Advisory Boards and Councils

Advisory Board

The Terry B. Rogers College of Education and Social Sciences Advisory Board exists to provide the college with a competitive advantage by facilitating interaction with the education and social sciences community and the community-at-large in a variety of ways to help achieve the college’s mission. The Board’s role is to:

  • Offer the college an outside perspective on issues affecting education and the social sciences that may have educational or research implications or opportunities.
  • Communicate the needs and requirements of the education and social sciences community to ensure that our graduates develop the skills, knowledge, and personal attributes required for success.
  • Provide feedback on our degree and certificate programs as to their relevance to organizations of the future.
  • Serve as a sounding board for new initiatives, research projects, and external activities.
  • Provide assistance and advice on college strategy, specific aspects of the strategy execution, and any operational issues where the dean feels he or she could benefit from an outside perspective.
  • Be an ambassador for the college with the broader Amarillo and regional community, alumni, and other external constituents.
  • Aid the college where possible in recruiting students into degree and certificate programs as well as in placing students upon graduation.
  • Assist the college with its financial development goals.

Advisory Board Members

Mrs. Barbara Bain, Retired Educator, Dimmitt, Texas
Mrs. Anette Carlisle, Social Entrepreneur at Panhandle Twenty/20, Amarillo, Texas
Mr. James Farren, Former Randall County District Attorney, Canyon, Texas
Mr. Darryl Flusche, Superintendent, Canyon Independent School District, Canyon, Texas
Mrs. Predenia Grantham, Educator, Hereford Independent School District, Hereford, Texas
Mrs. Lanna Hatton, Retired Educator, Amarillo, Texas
Dr. W.M. Jones, Jr., Retired Psychiatrist, Amarillo, Texas
Mr. John Lemons, Retired Superintendent, Bushland Independent School District, Bushland, Texas
Mr. Tod Mayfield, Attorney, Mayfield, Crutcher & Sharpee, Amarillo, Texas
Mr. John Mozola, Attorney and Partner Mullin, Hoard & Brown, LLP, Amarillo, Texas
Mr. Jay O’Brien, Rancher & Petroleum Development, Amarillo, Texas
Ms. Puff Niegos, Western sales and Testing, Amarillo, Texas
Mrs. Helen Piehl, CEO, Western Sales & Testing, Amarillo, Texas
Mr. Gary Pitner, Former Executive Director, Panhandle Regional Planning Commission, Amarillo, Texas
Dr. K. Raju Ramakrishnan, Professor Emeritus of Social Work, Houston, Texas
Mrs. Janie Rivas, Austin, TX
Mr. Doug Loomis, Superintendent, Amarillo Independent School District, Amarillo, Texas
Rep. John T. Smithee, Attorney and Texas State Representative (District 86), Amarillo, Texas
Ms. Rala Underwood, Counselor, Highland Park Independent School District, Amarillo, Texas