SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Education Faculty Quotes and Contacts

Dr. Ray Barbosa

Assistant Professor of Education

"The most terrible poverty is loneliness and the feeling of being unloved." It’s never been about me. - 1978 Noble Peace Prize - Mother Teresa

rbarbosa@wtamu.edu
Dr. Barbosa's Bio

 

Dr. Malvika Behl

Assistant Professor of School Counseling

"Time passes unhindered. When we make mistakes, we cannot turn the clock back and try again. All we can do is use the present well." – Dalai Lama

mbehl@wtamu.edu
Malvika Behl's Bio

 

Dr. Gary Bigham

Professor of Education

"My mission is to have an impact on young lives through their quality of education. With 20 years of experience as a teacher, principal and superintendent, I’ve been able to partially fulfill that mission. At the university level, I instruct prospective principals and superintendents and conduct research in educational leadership. All advance my mission when considering students affected by administrators that complete our program. This is a responsibility I do not take lightly!"

gbigham@wtamu.edu
Dr. Bigham's Bio

 

Dr. Teri Bingham

Associate Professor of Education

"Students who want to be excellent teachers and make a difference in the lives of their students will learn best teaching practices, a variety of instructional strategies, effective communication techniques, and motivation tools. I look forward to having you in class and getting to know you."

tbingham@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Bingham's Bio

 

Dr. Ashley J. Campbell

Helen Piehl Professor of Education
Professor of Education

"My students can expect to be prepared to teach hands-on, minds-on science for all children. They will explore teaching methods and strategies from selected topics in life science, physical science, earth science and space science guided by the most current research in science education."

acampbell@wtamu.edu
Dr. Campbell's Bio

 

Dr. Yvette Castillo

Associate Professor of Education

"Education is my passion in life and that energy is transferred into the classroom setting as I engage students in the process and practice of understanding dimensions of the human element. It is my goal to connect with students in such a way that they begin to embrace professional identity in the areas of ethics, advocacy, research, and application naturally."

ycastillo@wtamu.edu
Dr. Castillo's Bio

 

Dr. Betty Coneway

Team Lead of Undergraduate Programs/Chairperson for Graduate Reading Program
Associate Professor of Education

"The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be ignited." – Plutarch
"As an educator, it is my goal to continually light that fire and inspire a passion for learning in all my students, no matter what age!"

bconeway@wtamu.edu
Dr. Coneway's Bio

 

Dr. Elsa Diego-Medrano

Associate Professor of Education

emedrano@mail.wtamu.edu
Elsa Diego-Medrano's Bio

 

Dr. Beth Garcia

Director of Teacher Preparation Program/Certification Officer
Associate Professor of Education

"One hundred years from now, it won't matter what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in, how much money I had in the bank, nor what my clothes looked like…BUT… the world may be a little better because I was important in the life of a child." –Forest Witcraft

egarcia@wtamu.edu
Beth Garcia's Bio

 

Dr. Mark Garrison

Professor of Education

"The situations studied in any science possess both form and content. Content defines the subject matter: that is, whether we are studying, say, psychology, or something else, like, say, geology. Form, on the other hand, relates to the logical structure of situations, and formal issues are invariant across subject matters. When scientists err logically, they fall into confusion and their conclusions are unsafe." – Joel Michell

mgarrison@wtamu.edu
Dr. Garrison's Bio

 

Dr. Frank Goode

Assistant Professor of Education

"It is important that students bring a certain ragamuffin, barefoot irreverence to their studies; they are not here to worship what is known, but to question it." - Jacob Bronowski

fgoode@wtamu.edu
Dr. Goode's Bio

 

Dr. Leigh Green

Associate Professor of Education

"As an educator, I have a responsibility for the experiences that students have with the counseling profession. Therefore, I take responsibility for encouraging each student to explore his or her own counseling style while consistently ensuring multicultural and ethical competence. It is through my support, encouragement, and knowledge as the professor that students are shaped into dynamic counselors."

legreen@wtamu.edu
Dr. Green's Bio

 

Dr. Janet Hindman

Head, Department of Education
Associate Professor of EDLD/Ed.D.

jhindman@wtamu.edu
Janet Hindman's Bio

 

Dr. Crystal Hughes

Associate Professor of Education

"Who dares to teach must never cease to learn." – John Cotton Dana

chughes@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hughes' Bio

 

Dr. Sang K. Hwang

Professor of Education

"I feel proud of myself when I receive my students' positive feedback and reflect it for better teaching. I have the privilege of working in a collaborative environment at WTAMU where it’s full of teachers' pride. My students appreciate practical ideas, how to teach students in a creative way, and at the same time, enjoying quality literature."

shwang@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hwang's Bio

 

Dr. JoAnn Klinker

Associate Professor and Director of the Ed.D. Program

jklinker@wtamu.edu

 

Dr. Chanel Rodriguez

Assistant Professor of Education

"The ultimate aim of education is to enable individuals to become the architects of their own education and through that process to continually reinvent themselves." –Eliot Eisner

rcrodriguez@wtamu.edu
Dr. Rodriguez's Bio

 

Dr. Rich Rose

Associate Professor of Education

"Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I’ll spend the first four sharpening the ax." - Abe Lincoln

rrose@mail.wtamu.edu
Dr. Rose's Bio
Dr. Rose's Personal Page

 

Dr. Mikyung Shin

Assistant Professor of Education

"Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or self-confidence." ― Robert Frost

mshin@wtamu.edu
Dr. Shin's Bio

 

Dr. Michelle L. Simmons

Assistant Professor of Education
Lanna Hatton Professor of Learning Disabilities
Director of the Center for Learning Disabilities

All individuals are born with the innate ability to reach their OWN excellence. I believe education is a critical tool in reaching that goal."

msimmons@wtamu.edu
Dr. Simmons' Bio

 

Dr. Adam Weiss

Assistant Professor of Education

"It is the goal of all educators to see their students succeed academically, professionally, and personally. While students are responsible for opening their minds and actively engaging in learning, educators have the obligation to empower students to realize their dreams. As a professor at West Texas A&M, I will strive to provide students with the knowledge, resources, and support necessary, which will support their development into effective, service-centered educators. As a result, my students can empower future generations while promoting tolerance across the globe."

aweiss@wtamu.edu
Dr. Weiss' Bio

 

Dr. Brigette Whaley

Assistant Professor of Education

swhaley@wtamu.edu
Dr. Whaley's Bio

 

Dr. Judy Williams

Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Students: Education and Social Sciences
Associate Professor of Education

"My mother and my father were illiterate immigrants from Russia. When I was a child they were constantly amazed that I could go to a building and take a book on any subject. They couldn't believe this access to knowledge we have here in America. They couldn't believe that it was free." ~ Kirk Douglas

jdwilliams@wtamu.edu
Judy Williams' Bio