SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

PSSW Faculty Quotes and Contacts

Kristy Bartlett

Instructor of Social Work

"I am a firm believer that things happen for a reason, both good and bad. I feel it is important to embrace each occurrence whole heartedly."

kbartlett@wtamu.edu
Kristy Bartlett's Bio

 

Holly Bellah

Instructor of Social Work

"The unreal is more powerful than the real. Because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine it. Because it’s only intangible ideas, concepts, beliefs, fantasies that last. Stone crumbles. Wood rots. People, well, they die. But things as fragile as a thought, a dream, a legend, they can go on and on. If you can change the way people think. The way they see themselves. The way they see the world. You can change the way people live their lives. That’s the only lasting thing you can create." - Chuck Palahniuk

hbellah@wtamu.edu
Holly Bellah's Bio

 

Dr. Gary R. Byrd

Professor of Psychology

"Taking curiosity about the behavior of all organisms and combining it with disciplined scientific methodology -- the result generates NEW knowledge. Don't study yesterday's explanation of human behavior: help create tomorrow's advanced understanding. Come find out how!"

gbyrd@wtamu.edu
Dr. Byrd's Bio
Dr. Byrd's Persoanl Page

 

Dr. Maxine De Butte

Associate Professor of Psychology

"The brain is the last and grandest biological frontier, the most complex thing we have yet discovered in our universe. It contains hundreds of billions of cells interlinked through trillions of connections. The brain boggles the mind." - James D. Watson

mdebutte@wtamu.edu
Dr. DeButte's Bio

 

Meg DeJong-Shier, LMSW

Instructor of Social Work

"We work on ourselves in order to help others, but also we help others in order to work on ourselves." - Pema Chodron

mdejong-shier@wtamu.edu
Meg DeJong-Shier's Bio

 

Dr. Kenneth Denton

Assistant Professor of Psychology

"Do not lose hold of your dreams or aspirations. For if you do, you may still exist but you have ceased to live." -Henry David Thoreau

kdenton@wtamu.edu
Kenneth Denton's Bio

 

Dr. Felina Franklin

Assistant Professor of Social Work

"It's not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change." - Charles Darwin

ffranklin@wtamu.edu
Dr. Franklin's Bio

 

Dr. Lisa Garza

Department Head and Associate Professor of Sociology

"We have to talk about liberating minds as well as liberating society." - Angela Davis

lgarza@wtamu.edu
Lisa Garza's Bio

 

Dr. Jenifer Kunz

Professor of Sociology

"Sociology is an awesome field because it applies to everyday life! Everything we do daily involves sociology. It helps us see the strange in a familiar way. It helps us recognize general patterns in the behavior of people and it helps to explain how society shapes our personal choices."

jkunz@wtamu.edu
Dr. Kunz's Bio

 

Mun Yee Kwan

Assistant Professor of Psychology

"You will have bad times, but they will always wake you up to the good stuff you weren’t paying attention to." - Robin Williams, Good Will Hunting

mkwan@wtamu.edu
Mun Yee Kwan's Bio

 

Alyson Morgan

Instructor

amorgan@wtamu.edu
Alyson Morgan's Bio

 

Dr. Areen Omary

Assistant Professor of Social Work

"I embrace teaching as an opportunity to inspire and empower students."

aomary@wtamu.edu
Dr. Omary's Bio

 

Dr. Ashley Pinkham

Assistant Professor of Psychology

"Knowledge is power. Information is liberating. Education is the premise of progress, in every society, in every family." - Kofi Annan

apinkham@wtamu.edu
Ashley Pinkham's Bio

 

Dr. Henry Poduthase

Associate Professor of Social Work

"I will give you a talisman. Whenever you are in doubt, or when the self becomes too much with you, apply the following test. Recall the face of the poorest and the weakest man [woman] whom you may have seen, and ask yourself, if the step you contemplate is going to be of any use to him [her]. Will he [she] gain anything by it? Will it restore him [her] to a control over his [her] own life and destiny? In other words, will it lead to swaraj [freedom] for the hungry and spiritually starving millions??Then you will find your doubts and your self melt away." - Mahatma Gandhi

hpoduthase@wtamu.edu
Henry Poduthase's Bio

 

Dr. Keith Price

Professor of Sociology and Criminal Justice

"After working for the Texas prison system for thirty years, my parole to West Texas A&M University is like making it to heaven. Students are fairly easy to manage after dealing with robbers, rapists and murderers and a lot more fun. Come take a class in criminal justice or sociology and learn why it is better to be a student than a convict."

kprice@wtamu.edu
Dr. Price's Bio
Dr. Price's Personal Page

 

Dr. Danney Rasco

Assistant Professor of Psychology

"The saying goes: 'A mind is a terrible thing to waste.' I agree. The mind was free though so how much more tragic to waste an education."

drasco@wtamu.edu
Dr. Rasco's Bio

 

W. Justin Thompson, LMSW

Instructor of Social Work

"Treat a person as they are, and they will remain as they are. Treat them as they could be, and they will become what they should be." - Jimmy Johnson

wthompson@wtamu.edu
Justin's Bio