Diverse and Dynamic Programs
College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences

The Paul Engler College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences includes the Department of Agricultural Sciences; the Department of Chemistry and Physics; and the Department of Life, Earth and Environmental Sciences.

In addition to providing expertise to the University’s general education curriculum, the College offers diverse and dynamic undergraduate, graduate and doctoral level programs and majors; higher education that is directed toward preparing graduates to be competent and competitive in scientific, technical, educational and professional occupations.

Providing the panhandle community and the world with knowledgeable, professional and experienced graduates.

Mission of the College

The mission of the College is to provide excellence in teaching, research and professional service in the major areas served and ultimately prepare students for employment by providing them with a skill set that will make them successful now and into the future, regardless of their chosen path. 

The internationally recognized faculty of the College are eager to work with students in the classroom, in the laboratory and in the field. Students can pursue a variety of activities, from assisting faculty in conducting cutting-edge research, to completing an internship with a company competing in the global marketplace. These real-world experiences in various disciplines are the hallmark of the College and the University.

In addition to the outstanding academic training that students receive, the College offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities, including judging teams, departmental clubs, service-learning activities and departmental and university leadership opportunities.

Buff Brief Newsletter Page
Click below to read about how students are making a difference in our College, throughout the panhandle and the world. 


WT Ag Students
Recognizing our College Student Leaders!

The Paul Engler College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences sends a special thank you to students serving in Student Government roles for the 2022-2023 academic year. 

The individuals serving students in our College include the following: 

  • The Legislative Branch: 
    • Kyal Browne 
    • Jordan Byrd
    • Quinn Dunham
    • Lane Golla
    • Will Hauerland
    • Jolaine Machado
    • Tres Pennington
    • Ava Pluchino
    • Brady Wilson
  • The Executive Branch: 
    • Emmie Bertoni
    • Ashton Hollingsworth
    • Jayce Maker
    • Brandon Melnikoff
  • The Judicial Branch: 
    • Gracie Oates

THANK YOU for your service and innovative ideas brought to our College through your leadership and support for students at West Texas A&M University. 

Go Buffs!

Happy State Bank Academic & Research Building, Suite 262
WTAMU Box 60872, Canyon, TX  79016