SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Bachelor of Science in Animal Science

The mission of the Animal Science program is to develop our students into leaders in animal agriculture.  Students have many opportunities to gain hands-on experience in areas such as: diet formulation, animal and carcass evaluation, anatomy and physiology, breed identification, meat production, animal nutrition, and herd management. 

The Animal Science program has several student organizations to get involved with including:  Block and Bridle, WT Horseman's Association, Pre-Vet club. If competition is what you are looking for, look no further than to our livestock judging team, horse judging team, stock horse team, and equestrian team.

 

Student Highlight

"I grew up in a city in Ghana, Akim Oda, and I'm someone who likes animals you know...I wanted to do what I love to do so I went into Animal Science and I'm hoping to be a veterinarian."

- Benjamin Azamati
Animal Science | WTAMU Track

Program Requirements & Resources

Majors in agriculture include University core curriculum requirements, department core requirements, agricultural science core requirements, and major requirements specified under each degree option and total 120 semester credit hours (see each degree for specific requirements). Students must maintain at least a 2.0 grade point average (GPA) for all courses at WTAMU counted toward the degree; at least a “C” grade for all courses in the department and agricultural science cores; at least a “C” grade in major requirements and at least a “C” grade in the major subject. At least 36 semester hours of credit must be earned from upper-level (3000- and 4000-level) courses.

Agricultural Science Courses (25-26 hours)  
Major Requirements (43-44 hours)  
Ready to Apply?
Now that you know this program is right for you, take the next step! Apply to WT, then search and apply for scholarships. Check out our student organizations too.

Faculty to contact for more information:

Dr. David Lust at dlust@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Lance Baker at lbaker@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Ty Lawrence at tlawrence@wtamu.edu,

Dr. John Pipkin at jpipkin@wtamu.edu,

Coach Amanda Ellis at aellis@wtamu.edu

Dr. Travis Tennant at ttennant@wtamu.edu,

Dr. John Richeson at jricheson@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Kendall Samuelson at ksamuelson@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Tommy Perkins at tperkins@wtamu.edu, 

Dr. Loni Lucherk at llucherk@wtamu.edu 

Happy State Bank Academic & Research Building, Suite 262
WTAMU Box 60872, Canyon, TX  79016
806-651-2585