SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Bachelor of Science (B.S.) Degree

The mission of the Animal Science program is to develop our students into leaders in animal agriculture.  Students have many opportunities to gain hands-on experience in areas such as:  diet formulation, animal and carcass evaluation, anatomy and physiology, breed identification, meat production, animal nutrition, and herd management.  The Animal Science program has several student organizations to get involved with including:  Block and Bridle, WT Horseman's Association, Pre-Vet club.  If competition is what you are looking for, look no further than to our livestock judging team, horse judging team, stock horse team, and equestrian team.  Majors in agriculture include University core requirements, department core requirements, agricultural science core requirements, and major requirements specified under each degree option and total 120 semester credit hours. Students must maintain at least a 2.0 grade point average (GPA) for all courses at WTAMU counted toward the degree.  At least 36 semester hours of credit must be earned from upper-level (3000- and 4000-level) courses.

Select BIOL 1413, CHEM 1411 or 1405, MATH 1314, ENGL 1302 or ENG 2311, AGRI 2300, and AGBE 2317 to satisfy core curriculum requirements.

Agricultural Science Courses (25-26 hours)

  • AGRI 1329 - Food Science 

  • AGRI 3301 - Genetics  or
  • BIOL 3301 - Genetics 
  • AGRI 3318 - Agricultural Statistics 
  • AGBE 3301 - Farm and Ranch Management  or
  • AGBE 3304 - Agricultural Business Management 
  • AGBE 3302 - Marketing of Agricultural Products 
  • ANSC 3374 - Principles of Nutrition 
  • AGRI 3103 - Agricultural Industry and Career Preparation 

Take two courses from (one must be 3000-4000):

  • PSES 2313 - Economic Entomology 
  • PSES 2411 - Soils and the Environment (HAZ) 
  • PSES 3350 - Rangeland Plants 
  • PSES 3354 - Ecology of Rangeland and Agricultural Systems 
  • PSES 4302 - Range/Forage/Wildlife Management (HAZ) 
  • PSES 4321 - Grain, Fiber and Oilseed Crops 
  • PSES 4352 - Integrated Grazing and Wildlife Habitat Management 
  • PSES 4356 - Rangeland Improvements 

Major Requirements (43-44 hours)

  • BIOL 1406 - Basic and Contemporary Biology I (HAZ)  or
  • BIOL 1413 - Zoology (HAZ) 
  • CHEM 1411 - Chemistry I (HAZ) 
  • CHEM 1412 - Chemistry II (HAZ) 
  • BIOL 2420 - Applied Microbiology (HAZ)  or
  • BIOL 2572 - Microbiology (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 2371 - Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Farm Animals (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 2376 - Meat Animal and Carcass Evaluation (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 3317 - Meat Science (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 3340 - Reproductive Physiology 
  • ANSC 3355 - Animal Breeding 
  • ANSC 3375 - Feeds and Feeding (HAZ) 

Take three courses from:

  • ANSC 4320 - Beef Cattle Management (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 4321 - Stocker Cattle Management (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 4322 - Dairy Cattle Management (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 4324 - Swine Management 
  • ANSC 4328 - Feedlot Management (HAZ) 
  • ANSC 4329 - Meat Animal Welfare Management 
  • ANSC 4370 - Equine Science and Production 

Electives (8-10 hours)

For More Information Please Contact:

Dr. David Lust at dlust@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Lance Baker at lbaker@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Ty Lawrence at tlawrence@wtamu.edu,

Dr. John Pipkin at jpipkin@wtamu.edu,

Coach Amanda Ellis at aellis@wtamu.edu, or

Dr. Travis Tennant at ttennant@wtamu.edu,

Dr. John Richeson at jricheson@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Kendall Samuelson at ksamuelson@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Tommy Perkins at tperkins@wtamu.edu, or

Dr. Loni Lucherk at llucherk@wtamu.edu 

Happy State Bank Academic & Research Building, Suite 262
WTAMU Box 60872, Canyon, TX  79016
806-651-2585