SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

occupational-therapy-student-group-gym

Pre-Occupational Therapy Specialization

Overview

Occupational Therapy is a licensed health profession focused on improving the lives of patients from pediatrics to senior adults.  Occupational therapists work in a variety of settings including schools, outpatient clinics, long-term care facilities, and hospitals. Occupational therapists develop individualized treatment plans and adaptations for patient goals to assist with regaining skills to afford greater independence and function for daily activities in such areas as school, employment, community, and home settings. 

 

Advising

Occupational therapy programs are typically two to three year programs with options to complete requirements for either a masters or doctoral degree.  Admission to an occupational therapy program requires a baccalaureate degree. Students should consult advisers for proper course selection. Professional school admissions officers make final decisions regarding entrance requirements to their respective schools.

Texas Occupational Therapy Schools & Information

List of Texas Schools  

WTAMU Pre-Occupational Therapy Specialization Advisers

Dr. Gene Farren
Department of Sports and Exercise Sciences
Office: VHAC 231
Phone: (806) 651-2370
Email: gfarren@wtamu.edu 

Dr. Vanessa Fiaud
Department of Sports and Exercise Sciences
Office: VHAC 230
Phone: (806) 651-2677
Email: vfiaud@wrtamu.edu 

Dr. Rick Haasl
Department of Health Sciences
Office: Old Main 402C
Phone: (806) 651-3502
Email: rhaasl@wrtamu.edu 

Dr. Stephen Karaganis
Department of Life, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Office: NSB 339
Phone: (806) 651-3870
Email: skaraganis@wtamu.edu 

Dr. Blake Price
Department of Sports and Exercise Sciences
Office: VHAC 235
Phone: (806) 651-3646
Email: bprice@wtamu.edu 

Dr. Lorna Strong
Department of Sports and Exercise Sciences
Office: VHAC 217C
Phone: (806) 651-2382
Email: lstrong@wtamu.edu