Faculty and Staff Excellence Awards

2023 Academic Affairs Faculty and Staff Awards

Honorees were selected for their impact on WT students and stakeholders through excellence in instructional responsibilities, intellectual contributions, professional service, innovation, research, and the advancement of graduate programs.


(From left: Drs. Barthel, Hart, Howell, Rausch, Loftin, and Hiranuma)

Instructional Excellence Award

  • Dr. Collette Loftin, Professor of Nursing

Professional Service Excellence Award

  • Dr. Dave Rausch, Teel Bivins Professor of Political Science

Intellectual Contributions Excellence Award

  • Dr. Anne-Christine Barthel, Associate Professor of Economics & Hodges Professor of Business

Distinguished Innovation in Teaching Award

  • Dr. Monica Hart, Associate Professor of English

Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award

  • Dr. Nathan Howell, Associate & Bell Helicopter Professor of Engineering

Distinction in Sponsored Research Award

  • Dr. Naruki Hiranuma, Associate Professor of Environmental Science




Assessment and Assurance of Learning Award

  • Department of Life, Earth, and Environmental Sciences (Dr. David Sissom, Department Head)




Academic Affairs Staff Excellence Award

  • Heather Wilson, Graduate School




Academic Affairs Staff Excellence Award

  • Gina Woodward, SBDC and Enterprise Center