SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Meet the Faculty!

William Ambrose

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

"Teaching mathematics is so enjoyable because it has so many applications to others disciplines." 

bambrose@wtamu.edu

William Ambrose's Bio

Area of Research:

 

Dr. Randel Combs

Associate Professor of Mathematics

rcombs@wtamu.edu

Dr. Combs' Bio

Area of Research: Harmonic Analysis

 

Dr. Kristina Gill

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

"A teacher affects eternity; he can neber tell where his influence stops." -Henry Adams

kgill@wtamu.edu

Dr. Gill's Bio

Area of Research: Education

 

Lina Hajje

Instructor of Mathematics

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a gift. That's why we call it present."

lhajje@wtamu.edu

Area of Research:  

 

Duane Jacobs

Instructor of Mathematics

"My greatest thrill as a teacher is helping students learn to teach mathematics to themselves."

djacobs@wtamu.edu

Duane Jacob's Bio

Area of Research:

 

Gregg Lawler

Instructor of Mathematics

glawler@wtamu.edu

Area of Research:

 

Dr. Audrey Meador

Instructor of Mathematics

"You never truly understand the beauty of a subject unless you have taught it to someone else. I have a passion for my subject and teach so that my students can hopefully gain that same appreciation for mathematics."

ameador@wtamu.edu

Dr. Meador's Bio

Areas of Research:

  • Recruitment and retention of students to STEM fields
  • Diverse populations in STEM education
  • Instructional theories in mathematics
  • Assistive technology in mathematics eduation
  • Pre-service teacher knowledge in mathematics

 

Dr. Daniel Seth

Associate Professor of Mathematics

"Math is paradoxical, fun, and hard at the same time. Success in math is akin to success in athletics or music, it requires a lot of practice and perserverance."

dseth@wtamu.edu

Dr. Seth's Bio

Areas of Research:

  • Applied mathematics
  • Numerical analysis

 

Kimberly Seward

Instructor of Mathematics

kseward@wtamu.edu

 

Melissa Timmons

Instructor of Mathematics

"I enjoy teaching my students mathematics and watching them overcome their previous aversion to the subject. I believe that anyone can do mathematics, it just take a willingness to try."

mtimmons@wtamu.edu

Melissa Timmons' Bio

Area of Research:

 

Preston Tirey

Instructor of Mathematics

ptirey@wtamu.edu

Area of Research:

 

Dr. Qingquan Wu

Instructor of Mathematics

"The growth of my students, both academically and professionally, is the biggest paycheck for me."

qwu@wtamu.edu

Areas of Research:

  • Algorithmic number theory
  • Algebraic number theory
  • Function fields
  • General algebra

 

Dr. Yong Yang

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

"I never teach my pupils, I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn." -Albert Einstein

yyang@wtamu.edu

Areas of Research:

  • Computational fluid dynamics
  • Numerical analysis
  • Machine learning
  • Data science