Bonney MacDonald Award Logo 

This page is where nomination info and announcements for the book award will be posted.

Learn more about the Bonney MacDonald Award for Outstanding Western Book and how you can support this program here. 

The 2022 Book Award winner will be announced Fall 2022!

Nominate a Book for the 2023 Book Award

CSAW is pleased to announce its call for submissions for the 2023 CSAW Award for Outstanding Western Book. This juried prize recognizes a book that demonstrates excellent scholarly or creative insight concerning the American West or some aspect of its history, culture, society, or environment. Of particular interest are books that are geographically relevant to the Southern Plains region and/or the concerns of a Southern Plains regional readership; that balance scholarly/creative excellence with accessible style or popular appeal; and, books that are in keeping with CSAW’s general mission in that they balance a localized focus with global perspective and significance.  

The prize includes a monetary award of $500, along with a plaque. Prize winners will be encouraged to travel to WT to deliver a lecture based upon the award-winning book. 

The deadline to submit a book for consideration is January 15, 2023. Books with a publication year of 2022 are eligible for consideration. Books from any discipline, genre, or publisher are eligible. Books may only be nominated by the publisher or the author of the work.

Please submit titles for nomination at this form. Finalists will be required to provide 5 copies of the book for the award committee. 

Congratulations to the 2021 Book Award Winner: Justin Gage for We Do Not Want the Gates Closed Between Us: Native Networks and the Spread of the Ghost Dance (University of Oklahoma Press, 2020)!

Join CSAW in celebrating Gage's accomplishment at the Nov. 11 lecture & award reception:

  • 7 p.m., Nov. 11
  • In person: Alumni Banquet Hall, WTAMU Campus
  • Online: Register here.

The book examines Native American social and cultural networks on the Great Plains in the late 1800s, especially in the years of the Ghost Dance and its violent suppression in 1890. Learn more about Gage's research at:

Previous Winners:

  • 2020: Josh Garrett-Davis, What is a Western? Region, Genre, Imagination (University of Oklahoma Press, 2019). View a recording of this reception and lecture under "past events."
    • Runner-up for the award is Douglas Sheflin’s Legacies of Dust: Land Use and Labor on the Colorado Plains (University of Nebraska Press, 2019).
  • 2019: James E Sherow, The Chisholm Trail: Joseph McCoy’s Great Gamble (University of Oklahoma Press, 2018).
    • Runner-up for the award is Monica Muñoz-Martinez’s The Injustice Never Leaves You: Anti-Mexican Violence in Texas (Harvard University Press, 2018).