Legislative Branch

The student body vice president and student senate president is responsible for the legislative branch of Student Government. This branch consists of Student Senate with approximately 35 elected senators who represent WTAMU students in their designated college or freshmen and graduate students. The purpose of student senate is to represent the students' views to the University administration. Through bills, resolutions and committees, Student Senate takes action on various University issues and student concerns.

Watch the video below to learn more about this branch of student government!

Student Government Committees

The four committees within Student Senate develop goals that benefit the entire student body, working to achieve these goals during the semester. The four committees are:

  • Internal Affairs
  • Academic Affairs 
  • Student Affairs 
  • Public Relations

To get involved with Student Government, consider ­joining Student Senate. Each college is designated a specific number of senators, based on the number of students in their college. Fill out the Vacancy Application today on BuffLink!

Contacts for the Legislative Branch:

Victoria Reyes
Student Body Vice President and Student Senate President

Phone: 806-651-2387
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 102A

Ava Pluchino
Legislative Assistant

Phone: 806-651-2387
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 104