Catch up on the latest student successes in the Department of Communication!

Students and alumni from the Department of Communication are applying their knowledge and skills! Check out news and events below from 2021 to present. 


WT Takes Home a Gold ADDY and Special Judges Award
Congratulations, Dr. Enyonam Osei-Hwere & Johnny Story!

Ubuntu: From the Panhandle to the World, is a documentary about the study abroad program in South Africa led by Dr. Osei-Hwere, winner of the Gold ADDY and Executive Producer, and Johnny Story, winner of the Special Judges Award for Producer/Director. Special thank you to the Amarillo Chapter of the American Advertising Federation for hosting this year! As a Gold ADDY recipient, the film will automatically be entered into the next level of competition! 

View the video below! 


Department of Communication Represented at 2024 Research Fair

Dr. Li Chen, Associate Professor of Media Communication, along with Dr. Xie Ming, presented Rural Young Adults' Perceptions on Cannibis: A Survey Study.[Killgore grant recipient]

Dr. Emily Kinsky, Professor of Media Communication, along with Susan Grantham, presented "Think about the ratings": K-Drama Representations of Journalism Ethics in South Korea [Korean American Communication Association grant recipient]

To view more presentations from the College of Fine Arts and Humanities, please click the link below.


WT Students Sweep Awards for Graphic Design
WT Students swept virtually all collegiate-level categories in a recent local competition, including a best of show award, two gold awards, and five silver awards in the contest. Click on the link below to learn more about our COFAH student award winners!
Four Illustrious Retired WT Faculty Named Professors Emeriti
'I Am WT' Podcast Returns for Season 2
Fall Enrollment Rises Among Sophomores and Juniors
Student's Videos Awarded Multiple Telly Awards
Two Inducted Into the Hall of Fame
WT Department of Communication Recognizes Outstanding Students
Students with the Bateman Team, Eternal Flame, 1910 PR, KWTS and more were recognized. Read more about our outstanding students below.

Spring 2022 Department News

WT Students Score Statewide Honor for Video Produced for City of Canyon  
WT Department of Communication Students Recognized at Annual Awards Ceremony  
WT Communication Students Inducted into Honor Society  

Fall 2021 Department News

Artifacts COMM Alive  
COMM Week Stranger Games  
Homecoming: The Roaring Twenties  

Alumni Success Stories