Rogers LEAD WT Cohort Announced for 2024-2025

Chip Chandler May 03, 2024
  • Engineering
  • Social Sciences
  • Agriculture
  • Business
  • Health Sciences
  • Featured
  • Nursing

Rogers LEAD WT Cohort Announced for 2024-2025

Copy by Chip Chandler, 806-651-2124,


CANYON, Texas — Student scholars for the 2024-2025 cohort of a prestigious West Texas A&M University program have been announced.

The Dyke and Terry Rogers Leadership Education and Development Program, or Rogers LEAD WT, was created in 2012 to challenge high-achieving students to further develop their leadership potential.

“We have moved the Rogers LEAD WT program under the umbrella of the Division of Academic Affairs in order to help it reach new heights,” said Kimberly Cornelsen, executive director. “LEAD WT students will have a more efficient way of adding credentials to their transcripts and pursue other academic initiatives that previously weren’t available to them.”

Up to 25 students annually are accepted as LEAD WT scholars following an extensive application and interview process. The program is completed in two years, with students taking leadership theory courses, working as a team on service projects, and completing internship experiences and taking part in other real-world activities including networking events and public speaking opportunities.

Students named to the 2024-2025 cohort of Rogers LEAD WT scholars include: Ethan Archambault, a sophomore sports and exercise science major from Haverhill; Thalia Avalos, a sophomore pre-nursing major from Comfort; Leah Aviles, a junior general business major from San Bernardino, California; Janet Banuelos, a sophomore pre-nursing major from Booker; Caoimhe Benn-Rothstein, a senior animal science / pre-vet major from Peyton, Colorado; William Blackmon, a sophomore electrical engineering major from Hereford; Kami Drinnon, a sophomore accounting major from Vega; Kate Fortner, a sophomore criminal justice major from Lubbock; Emily Garner, a junior animal science major from Edgewood; Heidi Giesbrecht, a sophomore marketing major from Seminole; Rhythm Ghimire, a freshman computer science major from Nepal; Kiki Khan, a junior pre-nursing major from Canyon; and Katelyn Lechwar, a sophomore sports and exercise sciences major from Tulia;

Also, Madison Mollenhour, a sophomore agriculture media and communications from Rhome; Dominic Narvaez , a junior mechanical engineering major from Amarillo; Oscar Navarro, a sophomore accounting major from Canadian; Madison Osborn, a sophomore animal science / pre-vet major from Vega; Charlie Pointer, a junior sports and exercise sciences major from Turkey; Omar Reynoso, a sophomore electrical engineering major from Crane; Jared Rosales, a freshman pre-engineering major from Booker; Romi Rubio, a junior accounting and finance major from Amarillo; Alaina Scher, a sophomore equine industry and business from Georgetown; Lauren Stokes, a sophomore biology / pre-med major from Amarillo; Kelly Velazquez, a sophomore agribusiness major from Beaumont; and Bentley Wesbrooks, a sophomore accounting major from Canyon.

Students in this cohort represent five of WT’s six Colleges.

Offering students intellectually challenging, critically reflective and regionally responsive academic programs is part of the mission laid out in the University’s long-range plan, WT 125: From the Panhandle to the World.

That plan is fueled by the historic One West comprehensive fundraising campaign, which reached its initial $125 million goal 18 months after publicly launching in September 2021. The campaign’s new goal is to reach $175 million by 2025; currently, it has raised nearly $160 million.



About West Texas A&M University

WT is located in Canyon, Texas, on a 342-acre residential campus. Established in 1910, the University has been part of The Texas A&M University System since 1990. WT, a Hispanic Serving Institution since 2016, boasts an enrollment of about 10,000 and offers 59 undergraduate degree programs and more than 40 graduate degrees, including two doctoral degrees. The University is also home to the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum, the largest history museum in the state and the home of one of the Southwest’s finest art collections. The Buffaloes are a member of the NCAA Division II Lone Star Conference and offers 14 men’s and women’s athletics programs.



Photo: The 2024-2025 Rogers LEAD WT cohort includes, front from left, Madison Osborn, Caoimhe Benn-Rothstein, donor Terry B. Rogers, Katelyn Lechwar, Alaina Scher, Romie Rubio, Kami Drinnon, Charlie Pointer, Madison Mollenhour, Janet Banuelos, Kate Fortner and director Kimberly Cornelsen; and, back from left, assistant director Rick Haasl, Oscar Navarro, Lauren Stokes, Thalia Avalos, Dominic Narvaez, Kiki Khan, Jared Rosales, Omar Reynoso, Emily Garner, Rhythm Ghimire, Ethan Archambault, Leah Aviles, donor Dyke Rogers, Kelly Velazquez and Bentley Wesbrooks.