Outstanding WT Business Students, Community Leaders Recognized at Symposium

Chip Chandler May 06, 2021
  • Business
  • Community
  • Featured

Outstanding WT Business Students, Community Leaders Recognized at Symposium

Photo: Paul Engler congratulates Enactus Award winner Jessie Castillo of Amarillo during the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business Symposium on April 28.


Copy by Chip Chandler, 806-651-2124,


CANYON, Texas — The Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business at West Texas A&M University recently recognized outstanding student and community leaders at its seventh annual COB Symposium.

The event, held April 28 in Legacy Hall in the Jack B. Kelley Student Center, also included honor society inductions and presentations by the Enactus and Media Minds student groups.

“The symposium enables us to celebrate the successes of our students and to recognize and honor our stakeholders,” said Dr. Amjad Abdullat, dean of the Engelr Collge of Business. “It promotes and encourages a sense of accomplishment and success that a student can carry with them for the rest of their lives. And it provides opportunities for other students in pursuit of excellence.”

Jean Walker, a former finance instructor, was inducted into the Faculty Hall of Fame in recognition of more than 36 years of service to the Engler College of Business.

Community awards presented included:

  • Ambassador Award: Stan Sigman, posthumously
  • Employer of the Year Award: Xcel Energy
  • Horizon Alumnus Award: Kolten Wilder
  • Legacy Award: Friends of Stan Sigman

Nine undergraduates and six graduate students were recognized with outstanding student awards:

Outstanding Business Undergraduate Awards

  • Paul and Virginia Engler Student of Distinction: Karlandria Edwards, a Fall 2020 management graduate from Amarillo
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Business Student: Jenni Patriani Cardoso, a senior management major from Amarillo
  • Accounting: Olivia Forsberg, a Fall 2020 graduate from Amarillo
  • Computer Information Systems: Seth McCarty, a senior from Aledo
  • Economics: Lance Myers, a senior from Clovis, N.M.
  • Finance: Jacob Harris, an August 2020 graduate from El Paso
  • General Business: Wendy Jessica Mayo, a Fall 2020 graduate from Perryton
  • Management: Jennel Buchanan, a senior from San Antonio
  • Marketing: Dakota Scott Puga, a Fall 2020 graduate from Canyon

Outstanding Business Graduate Awards

  • Outstanding Graduate Business Student: Arne van Mourik of Denmark
  • Computer Information System and Business Analytics: Nga Nguyen of Amarillo
  • Finance and Economics: Andrew Hartman of Pittsburgh
  • Healthcare Management: Michelle Bateman-Moschella of Orlando
  • Accounting: Mary Hayward of Amarillo
  • Accounting Education Foundation Award: Alyssa Perez of Plainview

Engler College of Business student organizations also recognized outstanding leadership:

  • Accounting and Finance Association: Canon Brown, a graduate student from Amarillo
  • Association for Latino Professionals of America: Miguel Cuevas, a senior from Amarillo
  • Chartered Financial Analysts Research Challenge: James Rogers, a graduate student from Arlington
  • Carey Lyles Emerging Technology Award: Gerardo Herrera Gonzalez, a senior from Laredo
  • Economics Club: Steven Webster, a graduate student from Amarillo
  • Enactus: Jessie Castillo, a senior from Amarillo
  • Media Minds: Mason Pifer, a junior from Batavia, Ill.
  • Society for Human Resource Management: Heidi Torres, a graduate student from Van Alstyne
  • Student Government: Emma Weinheimer, a junior from Groom
  • Student Managed Investment Fund: Trey Orthengren, a graduate student from Amarillo

The Engler College of Business honor societies also inducted new members:

Alpha Mu Alpha, for marketing majors:

  • Douglas S. Brown from Richmond
  • Ariane Cain-Etminan from Arlington
  • Briar Evans from Snyder
  • Xenia Franco from Stratford
  • Sara Koepp from New Braunfels
  • Eva N. Lopez from Granada Hills, Calif.
  • Kylie Miller from Darrouzett
  • Bethany O’Neal from Sherman
  • Anam Syed from Houston
  • Cesar A. Vasquez from El Paso
  • Chandler Vogel from Hereford
  • Austin Whitten from Hale Center

Omicron Delta Epsilon, for economics majors

  • Brandy Curtis Richards from Anchorage
  • Kenneth Dei-Amoah from Ghana
  • Brian Harris from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
  • Lisa Jahn from Yuma, Ariz.
  • Kevin Magavern from McKinney
  • Devin T. Martin from Fort Worth
  • Jennifer Quealy from Roanoke
  • Clifton Ross from Somerton, Ariz.
  • Evan Stufflebeam from Phoenix
  • Blane Thornton from Amarillo
  • Andrew White from Tomball
  • Levi Zemanuel from Canyon

Upsilon Pi Epsilon, for computer information systems majors

  • Aaron Acosta from El Paso
  • Essam Alfaloujeh from Canyon
  • Robert Arlt Jr. from Cambridge, Mass.
  • Noah Bennani from Escondido
  • Michael Criscione from Elmwood Park, N.J.
  • Saravanakumar Dharmarajan from Katy
  • Gerardo Herrera Gonzalez from Laredo
  • Taylor Hurt from Amarillo
  • Aditya Jagdale from Pune, India
  • Nour Kadad from Leander
  • Seth McCarty from Aledo
  • Nirmala Narasimhan from Amarillo
  • Nga Nguyen from Amarillo
  • Abdulrafiu Rabiu from Houston
  • Soumya Roy from Paoli, Pa.
  • Ankita Singh from Amarillo
  • Anna Smith from Snoqualmie, Wash.
  • Justin Stout from Fort Stockton
  • Stephanie Vestal from Robinson
  • Cecilia Vu from Dallas

Recognition of student excellence is a key component of the University’s long-term plan, WT 125: From the Panhandle to the World.


About West Texas A&M University

WT is located in Canyon, Texas, on a 342-acre residential campus. Established in 1910, the University has been part of The Texas A&M University System since 1990. With enrollment of more than 10,000, WT offers 60 undergraduate degree programs, 40 master’s degrees and two doctoral degrees. The University is also home to the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum, the largest history museum in the state and the home of one of the Southwest’s finest art collections. The Buffaloes are a member of the NCAA Division II Lone Star Conference and offers 15 men’s and women’s athletics programs.