13 Faculty Members Awarded Tenure, Promotion

Students in classroom
May 18, 2020
  • Engineering
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts
  • Education
  • Business
  • Science
  • History
CONTACT: Dr. Neil Terry, Executive Vice President and Provost, 806-651-2044,  

13 Faculty Members Awarded Tenure, Promotion

CANYON, Texas—West Texas A&M University announced today that 13 faculty members have been recognized for their outstanding performance by being awarded tenure and/or promotion for the 2020-2021 academic year.

This total includes eight faculty members awarded tenure and promotion to Associate Professor and five promotions in academic rank to Professor.

Extensive reviews and recommendations by faculty colleagues at the department, college, and university levels inform the decisions, which culminiate with final approval by President Walter Wendler and The Texas A&M Board of Regents.

Promotion and tenure is a privilege reserved for faculty members who have demonstrated professional accomplishments in instructional responsibilities, intellectual contributions and service.

“We are proud of our colleagues who are celebrating this well-deserved career milestone,” said Dr. Neil Terry, executive vice president and provost. “We have confidence that these faculty members will continue to contribute at a level of excellence that is critical to the mission of West Texas A&M University.”

The faculty members recognized include:

Award of Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor

Bill Ambrose, Mathematics
Daniel Bloom, Philosophy
Beth Garcia, Education
Crystal Hughes, Education
Brian Ingrassia, History
Ryan Mattson, Economics
Kelly McCauley, Management
Ashley Pinkham, Psychology

Promotion to Professor

Jeffry Babb, Computer Information Systems
Anne Medlock-Ely, Theatre
David Khan, Biochemistry
Andrew Reynolds, Spanish
Jonathan Shaffer, Management