Two Faculty Members Named to Endowed Professorships at WTAMU

Oct 02, 2018
  • Business

CONTACT:   Dr. Neil Terry, 806-651-2528,


CANYON, Texas—The Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business at West Texas A&M University has announced the appointment of two new endowed professorship positions for the fall of 2018. 

Dr. Marisa Crisostomo, clinical assistant professor of decision management, has been named the Jerry Miller Professor of Entrepreneurship. The Miller Professorship was established in 2010 by Dr. Jerry Miller, a distinguished scholar, dedicated professor, entrepreneur, community leader and innovative former dean of the College of Business at WTAMU. The professorship was created to support the continued student, faculty and community entrepreneurship activities at the University. Crisostomo earned a B.A. from Gonzaga University, M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Oklahoma before joining the West Texas A&M University faculty in 2017. Her duties include service as the senior Sam Walton Fellow for the student organization, Enactus.  Crisostomo’s current research topics include rationale behind social media usage, procrastination in organizations and the impact of body image on leadership perceptions. She teaches courses in statistical methods.

Dr. Jillian Yarbrough, clinical assistant professor of management, has been named the Virginia Engler Professor of Business. The Virginia Engler Professorship was established in 2018 by the Paul & Virginia Engler Foundation. The purpose of the professorship is to advance the mission of the business program at West Texas A&M University by supporting the teaching, research and service activities of an outstanding faculty member in the Engler College of Business. Yarbrough earned a B.S. from Texas Christian University, and an M.B.A. and Ph.D. from Texas A&M University before joining the faculty at West Texas A&M University in 2016.  Her recent research highlights include journal publications in Journal of Ethical and Legal Issues, Journal of Instructional Pedagogies, Journal of Business Case Applications and Research in Higher Education. Yarbrough is also co-author of the book Becoming a Self-Directed Learner: Experience, Logic, Application and Innovation published in 2017 by Great River Learning Press.  Her teaching areas include healthcare management, organizational behavior and human resource management. 

Endowed professorship and chair positions are important to the strategic initiative to recruit and retain faculty members that bring innovative and impactful expertise to the students and community served by West Texas A&M University.  The announcement of the Virginia Engler Professor of Business appointment brings the total to 19 endowed professorships in the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business. The continuing professor appointments are as follows:

Dr. Leslie Ramos Salazar, Dr. Amjad Abdullat Professor of Business;

Dr. Neil Meredith, Hassan and Jill Dana Professor of Business;

Dr. Darlene Pulliam, James and Mogie McCray Professor of Business;

Dr. Barbara Wang, Gene Edwards Professor of Banking;

Dr. De’Arno De’Armond, Gene Edwards Professor of Financial Planning;

Dr. Anne Macy, Gene Edwards Professor of Finance;

Dr. Sharon Burnett, Gene Edwards Profess of Accounting;

Dr. Nick Gerlich, J. Pat Hickman Professor of Marketing;

Dr. James Owens, Don Hodges Professor of Corporate Governance;

Dr. Robin Patterson, Don Patterson Professor of Business Law;

Dr. Sean Humpherys, T. Boone Pickens Professor of Business;

Dr. Jonathan Shaffer, T. Boone Pickens Professor of Management;

Dr. Karyn Friske, Stanley Schaeffer Professor of Business Ethics;

Dr. Bin Shao, Drs. Neil and Anne Terry Professor of Business;

Dr. Jeffry Babb, Dr. Phil Gensler Professor of Computer Information Systems;

Dr. Robert King, David Wilder Professor of Business; and

Dr. Andrew Li, Don Williams Professor of Management.


West Texas A&M University hosts a ceremony every February to honor faculty and donors of endowed professorships and chairs.