West Texas A&M University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), a regional agency recognized by the United States Department of Education. This is the highest accreditation a university can receive and signifies that WTAMU has "a purpose appropriate to higher education and the resources, programs and services sufficient to accomplish and sustain that purpose."

West Texas A&M University is fully accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music. NASM is a member of the Council of Arts Accrediting Associations (CAAA), which, besides NASM, includes the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, the National Association of Schools of Theatre, and the National Association of Schools of Dance. Founded in 1924, NASM is the oldest of the associations in CAAA, and has approximately 650 member institutions. 

NASM accreditation assures that every degree option offered by the School of Music at the undergraduate and graduate level meets rigorous academic and artistic standards.  The NASM website provides detailed information of the standards and the process for obtaining accreditation, as well as a complete listing of accredited programs. 

Faculty List
The School of Music at West Texas A&M University has 32 full-time resident faculty and 6 part-time adjunct members. Our faculty includes conductors, studio teachers, composers, historians, theorists, music educators, and administrators. The faculty maintains a high level of commitment to its 300 music majors and is dedicated to assisting alumni and the music community in meeting the challenges of an ever-broadening and diversifying music world.