West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance Faculty

Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance
Faculty

­Ammerman

Dr. D. Allen Ammerman

Assistant Professor of Finance

“Money makes the world go around.” – Kander & Ebb

dammerman@wtamu.edu
Dr. Ammerman's Bio 
Dr. Ammerman's CV

­Barthel

Dr. Anne-Christine Barthel

Assistant Professor of Economics & Decision Management

Dr. Barthel joined the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business in 2016.  She earned a Ph.D. at the University of Kansas in 2015.  Her teaching areas include Quantitative Methods in Business and courses in Microeconomic Theory at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

abarthel@wtamu.edu
Dr. Barthel's Bio 
Dr. Barthel's CV

 
­Sharon Burnett

Dr. Sharon Burnett

Edwards Professor of Accounting

Dr. Burnett returned to WT in 2013. ­She originally served as an assistant and was promoted to associate professor from 2000-2007. ­Dr. Burnett teaches Accounting for Decision Making, Cost Accounting, and Accounting Information Systems courses.

sburnett@wtamu.edu
Dr. Burnett's Bio­
Dr. Burnett's CV

­David Clark

David Clark

Instructor of Accounting and Healthcare Management

"Education should be thought of as a life-long trust fund in which, over the years, you should always strive to make more deposits than withdrawals!."

dclark2@wtamu.edu
David Clark's Bio­
David Clark's CV

 

­Karen Cooley

Karen Cooley

Instructor of Accounting

"What I enjoy most about teaching at West Texas A&M University is the opportunity to meet students and learn about who they are, not just as students but as people."

kcooley@wtamu.edu
Karen Cooley's Bio­
Karen Cooley's CV

 

­De'Arno De'Armond

Dr. De'Arno De'Armond

Associate Dean of Graduate Business Programs & Edwards Professor of Financial Planning

"It has been said, 'People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care.' I love walking into a classroom. It is an honor to share ideas and concepts in the learning environment with tomorrow's leaders."

ddearmond@wtamu.edu
Dr. De'Armond's Bio
Dr. De'Armond's CV

­Dr. John Francois

Dr. John Francois

Assistant Professor of Economics

Dr. Francois earned a Ph.D. at the University of Kansas before joining the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business.  His teaching areas include Quantitative Methods in Business, International Economics, and Economic Growth & Development.

jfrancois@wtamu.edu
Dr. Francois Bio 
Dr. Francois CV

Dr. Karyn Friske

Dr. Karyn Friske

Professor of Accounting ­& Schaeffer Professor of Business Ethics

"Nine tenths of education is encouragement." - Anatole France

kfriske@wtamu.edu
Dr. Friske's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Friske's CV

 

 

Juan Gallardo

Juan Gallardo

Instructor of Finance and Management

"Success is measured by how successful you make the people around you."

jgallardo@wtamu.edu
Juan Gallardo's Bio­­ ­
Juan Gallardo's CV

 

Gao Xiang

Dr. Xiang Gao

Assistant Professor of Accounting

Dr. Gao earned a Ph.D. at the University of Texas at El Paso before joining the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business.  Her teaching areas include Healthcare Accounting and Accounting Information Systems.

xgao@wtamu.edu
Dr. Gao's Bio
Dr. Gao's CV

 

Stephen Hayward

Stephen Hayward

Adjunct Instructor of Economics

“Great thoughts speak only to the thoughtful mind, but great actions speak to all mankind.” - Theodore Roosevelt

shayward@wtamu.edu
Stephen Hayward's Bio
Stephen Hayward's CV

 

 

Dr. Eric Hoffmann

Dr. Eric Hoffmann

Assistant Professor of Economics

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.” - Albert Einstein

ehoffmann@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hoffmann's Bio
Dr. Hoffmann's CV

 

 

Shan Lei

Dr. Shan Lei

Assistant Professor of Finance & Economics

Dr. Lei joined the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business in 2015.  She earned a Ph.D. at the University of Missouri.  Her research includes publications in Journal of  Personal Finance and Financial Counseling and Planning.

slei@wtamu.edu
Dr. Lei's Bio
Dr. Lei's CV

 

Lisa Lightfoot

Lisa Lightfoot

Instructor of Accounting

"An investment in knowledge pays the best interest." - Benjamin Franklin

llightfoot@mail.wtamu.edu
Lisa Lightfoot's Bio

Lisa Lightfoot's CV

 

Ryan S. Mattson

Dr. Ryan S. Mattson

Assistant Professor of Economics

“There is no science without measurement, no quality without testing, and no global markets without standards.” - Commission of the European Union

rmattson@wtamu.edu­
Dr. Mattson's Bio

Dr. Mattson's CV

Dr. Neil Meredith

Dr. Neil Meredith

Associate Professor of Economics & Dana Professor of Business

"By pursuing his own interest [man] frequently promotes that of the society more effectually than when he really intends to promote it." - Adam Smith

nmeredith@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Meredith's Bio­

Dr. Meredith's CV

 

­Lisa L. Mitchell

Lisa Mitchell

Senior Coordinator of Graduate Programs and Instructor of Finance

“Think for yourself. Trust your own intuition. Another’s mind isn’t walking your journey, you are.”

lmitchell@wtamu.edu ­­
Lisa Mitchell's Bio

Lisa Mitchell's CV

 

­Dr. Jim Owens

Dr. Jim Owens

Professor of Finance & Hodges Professor of Corporate Governance

"People who manage people manage people who manage things; people who manage money manage everything." - Will Durant

jowens@wtamu.edu
Dr. Owens' Bio­­­
Dr. Owens' CV

­Dr. Rex Pjesky

Dr. Rex Pjesky

Associate Dean of the Graduate School & Professor of Economics

"...And very often the influence exerted on a person's character by the amount of his income is hardly less, if it is less, than that exerted by the way in which it is earned." - Alfred Marshall

rpjesky@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Pjesky's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Pjesky's CV

­Darlene Pulliam

Dr. Darlene Pulliam

Professor of Accounting, McCray Professor of Business, and Regents Professor

"Success in life is the result of hard work and persistence.­  If you are not working hard and maybe even struggling at whatever you are doing, you are not reaching your potential.­  Coasting is not acceptable."

dpulliam@wtamu.edu
Dr. Pulliam's Bio­­­
Dr. Pulliam's CV

 

­Dr. Nurul Rafi

Dr. Nurul Rafi

Assistant Professor of Finance

“When it is obvious that goals cannot be reached, don’t adjust the goals, adjust the action steps.” - Confucius

nrafi@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Rafi's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Rafi's CV

Dr. Duane Rosa

Dr. Duane Rosa

Professor of Economics

"Students that enroll in one of my classes can expect to be actively involved in the subject matter of the course.  It is my hope that students acquire not only essential course content, but hopefully will adopt an appreciation for learning that will stay with them a lifetime."

drosa@wtamu.edu­ ­
Dr. Rosa's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Rosa's CV

 

­Dr. Oscar Solis

Dr. Oscar Solis

Associate Professor of Finance

Dr. Solis earned a Ph.D. at Texas Tech University worked at Virginia Tech University for seven years before joining the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business.  His teaching areas include Business Finance, Personal Financial Planning, and Risk Management.

osolis@wtamu.edu­­­­
­Stitzel

Dr. Brandli Stitzel

Assistant Professor of Economics

“The curious task of economics is to demonstrate to men how little they really know about what they imagine they can design.” – F.A. Hayek

bstitzel@wtamu.edu­ ­
Dr. Stitzel's Bio 
Dr. Stitzel's CV

 

  Dr. Anne Macy Terry

Dr. Anne Macy Terry

Edwards Professor of Finance

“My favorite things in life do not cost any money.  It is really clear that the most precious resource we all have is time.” – Steve Jobs

amacy@wtamu.edu­ ­
Dr. Macy's Bio 
Dr. Macy's CV

 

Dr. Neil Terry

Dr. Neil Terry

Dean of the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business and Professor of Economics

"If money is your hope for independence you will never have it. The only real security that a man can have in this world is a reserve of knowledge, experience and ability" - Henry Ford

nterry@wtamu.edu­­­
Dr. Terry's Bio­­­­­­
Dr. Terry's CV

­Alice Upshaw

Alice Upshaw

Instructor of Accounting

“Learn as if you were to live forever; live as if you were to die tomorrow.” - Mahatma Gandhi

aupshaw@wtamu.edu­­­
Alice Upshaw's Bio­­ ­
Alice Upshaw's CV

 

 

­Dr. Huabing (Barbara) Wang

Dr. Huabing Wang

Associate Professor of Finance and Edwards Professor of Banking

"To learn and never be filled, is wisdom; to teach and never be weary, is love." - Arabian Proverb

hwang@wtamu.edu
Dr. Wang's Bio­­ ­
Dr. Wang's CV

 

 

Melissa White

Melissa White

Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs and Instructor of Business

Melissa White began working at West Texas A&M University in 2014 and later joined the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business in 2018.  She is currently the Coordinator for the Undergraduate Business Program.  She received her MBA in 2014.

mwhite@wtamu.edu
Melissa White's Bio­­ ­
Melissa White's CV