WTAMU Students Earn Awards at 2018 Pathways Research Symposium

Nov. 13, 2018

CONTACT:    Dr. Rex Pjesky, 806-651-2737, rpjesky@wtamu.edu

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Students Earn Awards at 2018 Pathways Research Symposium


CANYON, Texas—West Texas A&M University hosted the 15th annual Pathways Student Research Symposium Nov. 1-2 on campus, and 12 WTAMU students walked away with awards for their poster and oral presentations.

With more than 350 faculty, staff and students from across the system registered, Dr. Angela Spaulding, vice president for research and compliance and dean of the Graduate School said hosting this year’s conference “was a tremendous success, which was made possible by the efforts of the WTAMU community, including faculty, staff and students.”

Undergraduate, graduate and doctoral students from universities throughoutDr. Walter Wendler and doctoral winner Shayna Chewning The Texas A&M University System shared their research results at the annual event. Entries were judged by representatives from each participating university on accuracy, presentation and knowledge of topic, explanation of research results and goals and overall work.

“The conference continues to provide students from throughout The Texas A&M University System an opportunity to present research in a supportive, scholarly and yet competitive environment.”

Shayna Chewning, a doctoral student in agriculture at WTAMU, placed first for her research in the doctoral-level research category. WTAMU winners in the master’s category were Steven Webster, first in business and computer information systems; Jessica Jackson, first in the education category; Ethan Triplett, third in the agriculture category; Mary Hayward, third in the business and computer information systems category; Kimberly Baker, third in health science; Amanda Brookhart, third in humanities and social science; and Shelby Phelps, third in life science.

The WTAMU undergraduate winners were Kimberly Stokes, second in business and computer information systems; Rebecca Romero, second in health science; Jose Navarrete, third in humanities and social science; and Mark Esposito, third in physical science.

The complete list of the 2018 Pathways award winners are listed by classification and category.

1st Shayna Chewning—West Texas A&M University
2nd Julia Dell’aquila—Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi
3rd Tunde Aderinto—Texas A&M University – Kingsville
4th Damilola Adesina—Prairie View A&M University

Master’s Winners
1st Lauren Selph—Tarleton State University
2nd Taylor Garcia—Tarleton State University
2nd Kolade Adelaja—Prairie View A&M University
3rd Ethan Triplett—West Texas A&M University

Business and Computer Information Systems
1st Steven Webster—West Texas A&M University
2nd Elvis Ochoa, Texas A&M University – Central Texas
3rd Mary Hayward—West Texas A&M University

1st Jessica Jackson—West Texas A&M University
2nd Nahoemi Pablo—Texas A&M University Commerce
3rd Courtney Clanton—Texas A&M University Commerce

Engineering and Computer Science
1st Kamalakar Nemali—Texas A&M University – Kingsville
2nd Saswat Pandey—Texas A&M University – Kingsville
3rd Chandan Roa Ramesh—Texas A&M University – Kingsville

Environmental Science
1st Elizabeth Mcelrath—Texas A&M University – Commerce
2nd Canaan Sutton—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Gabriel Wechter Nejad—Tarleton State University

Health Science
1st Priya Biswas—Texas A&M University – Commerce
2nd Guadalupe Herrea—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Kimberly Baker—West Texas A&M University

Humanities and Social Science
1st Amelia Hill—Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi
2nd Christian Pippins—Texas A&M University – Texarkana
3rd Amanda BrookhartWest Texas A&M University

Life Science
1st Elizabeth Fortner—Texas A&M University – Commerce
2nd Pipasha Biswas—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Shelby Phelps—West Texas A&M University

1st Natasha Astudillo—Texas A&M University – Commerce
2nd Elisha Shachar—Texas A&M University – Commerce

Physical Science
1st Cole Galey—Texas A&M University – Commerce
2nd Brianna Douglas—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Lauren Balliet—Texas A&M University – Commerce

Undergraduate Winners
1st Asja Jackson—Prairie View A&M University
2nd Victoria Parker—Prairie View A&M University
3rd Ellen-Ashley Williams—Prairie View A&M University

Business and Computer Information Systems
1st Joseph Zembo—Texas A&M University – Central Texas
2nd Kimberly Stokes—West Texas A&M University
3rd Christian Greene—Tarleton State University

1st Torey Crosswhite—Tarleton State University
2nd Rachel Scarcelli—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Minerva Mirafuentes—Texas A&M University – Commerce

Engineering and Computer Science
1st Mariee Cruz Mendoza—Texas A&M University – Kingsville
2nd Gabriela Diaz—Texas A&M University – Kingsville
3rd De Jaune’ Bickham—Prairie View A&M University

Environmental Science
1st Erick Vazquez Canto—Texas A&M International University
2nd Michael Mudd—Tarleton State University
3rd Esther Armah—Prairie View A&M University

Health Science
1st Jonathan Ortegon—Texas A&M University – Kingville
2nd Rebecca Romero—West Texas A&M University
3rd Genell Tantingco—Tarlton State University

Humanities and Social Science
1st Preston Ward—Tarleton State University
2nd Amanda Yuraitis—Texas A&M University – Kingsville
3rd Jose Jose Navarrete—West Texas A&M University
3rd Chanelle Ferguson—Prairie View A&M University

Life Science
1st Angela Smith—Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi
2nd Monekah Ammouri—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Chonique Long—Prairie View A&M University

1st Micalyn Rowe—Texas A&M University – Commerce
2nd Jennifer Melendez—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Lorna Espinoza—Texas A&M International University

Physical Science
1st Lenora Perkins—Texas A&M University – Kingsville
2nd Michael Ross—Texas A&M University – Commerce
3rd Mark Esposito—West Texas A&M University