Nov. 11, 2019

CONTACT: Dr. Trudy Hanson, 806-651-2800, thanson@wtamu.edu


WT's Communication Honor Society Inducts New Members

LPH induction 2019

*Photo left to right: Kiley Lovelady, Isai Lara-Ramirez, Tori Browder, Miranda Skinner, Gloria Torres, Hannah Burks and Azaley Medrana.

CANYON, Texas—West Texas A&M University’s Communication Honor Society, Lambda Pi Eta (LPH), inducted seven new members Monday, Oct. 28 at the Jack B. Kelley Student Center in the Hazel Kelley Wilson Room.

The inductees are as follows: Kiley Loveday, Isai Lara-Ramirez, Tori Browder, Miranda Skinner, Gloria Torres, Hannah Burks, and Azaley Medrana. To be inducted, inductees must be classified as a junior or senior, have a minimum of a 3.0 on a 4.0 GPA scale with a 3.25 GPA in communication studies courses, rank within the highest 35 percent of one’s class and complete 12 credit hours in the communication study program.

Many of these students are members in multiple other teams and organizations on campus and show their Buff Pride by being involved in campus and community. LPH hosts the national United Kingdom debaters each year, as well as planning the annual communication awards night. LPH also sponsors at least one service project each fall and spring semester. For fall, students coordinate the Operation Christmas Child boxes that are donated by students and faculty in the department. Last spring LPH also organized a book drive for the Communication Disorders program for their new downtown center.

About the WTAMU Department of Communication

The Department of Communication has two undergraduate programs, media communication and communication studies as well as a master's program in communication. For more information, please visit here.