WT National Broadcasting Society Chapter Awarded the Silver Buffalo

May 9, 2019

CONTACT: Dr. Emily Kinsky, 806-651-2412, ekinsky@wtamu.edu


WT's National Broadcasting Society is Awarded the Silver Buffalo

NBS is awarded the Silver Buffalo.

CANYON, Texas—The West Texas A&M University chapter of the National Broadcasting Society was awarded the Presidential Order of the Silver Buffalo at the 40th Annual All-University Honors Banquet.

“Our NBS members produce top-notch audio and video work that receives national and regional attention each year, so it is edifying for WT to recognize and encourage those efforts,” said Dr. Emily Kinsky, one of the advisers for WT’s NBS chapter.

The Presidential Order of the Silver Buffalo Award, which was first granted by WT President Russell Long in 1998, is reserved for individuals, teams or organizations whose accomplishments have brought national honor and distinction to the University.

The members of the National Broadcasting Society were honored with the Silver Buffalo because of their success at the 2019 National NBS Convention in Philadelphia in March. Of the 156 finalists named at the NBS conference, 10 percent of those finalists were from WT, and WT students won five of those national awards. In this annual national competition, WT NBS students compete against media communication students from all over the U.S., including Division 1 universities.

The WT NBS chapter helps students prepare for a career in digital media through leadership opportunities, community service and industry experience. They met weekly and collaborated year-round on audio and video projects that would ultimately receive national acclaim. 

The award was presented at the banquet on April 27 in the JBK Legacy Hall on the WT campus. The banquet was sponsored by the WT Office of Student Engagement and Leadership.



Post a Comment