Tao Named Ross W. Wilson Chair of Chemistry at WTAMU

Jan. 26, 2011

COPY BY:    Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

Tao Named Ross W. Wilson Chair of Chemistry at WTAMU

CANYON, Texas—Officials at West Texas A&M University have named Dr. Shiquan Tao as the Ross W. Wilson Chair in Chemistry. Tao, an assistant professor of chemistry, was named to the chair in recognition of his outstanding accomplishments in chemistry research.Dr. Siquan Tao

“In the relatively short time that Dr. Tao has been on our faculty, it is obvious that he is a superstar in the making. His ability to write and win competitive grants at the federal level has set him apart and made it an easy decision to bestow this honor upon him.” Dr. Don Topliff, dean of the College of Agriculture, Science and Engineering, said. “The distinction also honors Dr. Tao’s commitment to the University, its students and his colleagues.”

Tao joined the faculty at WTAMU in 2007 as an assistant professor. He has published more than 40 refereed articles in his career with 10 of those published since joining the WTAMU faculty. This past year he received a $113,000 grant from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Air Quality Program to develop a sensor for measuring ammonia in air samples. Prior to coming to Canyon, Tao served at Mississippi State University as an assistant research professor from 2002 and was promoted to an associate research professor in 2004. He holds a Ph.D. degree in chemistry from Hiroshima University in Japan and bachelor’s and master’s degrees in chemistry from the China University of Geosciences.
In addition to teaching general chemistry courses, Tao also teaches analytical chemistry and instrumental analysis to both undergraduate and graduate students.

The Ross W. Wilson Chair in Chemistry was established in 2008 with gifts from the family, friends and colleagues of the late Ross W. Wilson, a 1938 graduate of West Texas State College, and the estate of Hazel Kelley Wilson in recognition of his visionary leadership and the many significant contributions he made in the field of chemistry. Appointment to the position is for a three-year term and enables the University to identify and retain an outstanding chemistry faculty member while paying tribute to the Wilson family.

The University will recognize Tao and other WTAMU professors holding endowed chairs or professorships as well as the donors of those endowments at a special convocation and reception from 4-5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 15 in the Recital Hall of the Sybil B. Harrington Fine Arts Complex.



Post a Comment



noukeng denis claude
on 9.15.2011

plase sir I want you to give more informations about the agronomy in your university because I plan to continue my studies in agronomy in us ,but I don't know which university , thank you too much I congratulate you