Monroe Named WTAMU

Nov. 6, 2018

CONTACT:    Steve Sellars, 806-651-2345,

COPY BY:     Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129,

Monroe Named WTAMU’s 2018 Intern of the Year


CANYON, Texas—West Texas A&M University student Morgan Monroe spent just three months this summer as an intern with BlueCross BlueShield, but the experience gave her a direct line to a career path and earned her honors as WTAMU’s Intern of the Year for 2018.

Monroe, a senior corporate communication major from Amarillo, will be recognized at a specialMorgan Monroe Intern of the Year reception at 12:15 p.m. Monday, Nov. 12 at the Sybil B. Harrington Fine Arts Complex. She will receive a $750 scholarship for the spring semester, and her name will be submitted for the national Cooperative Education and Internship Association’s Academic Intern of the Year award.

This year’s award marks the sixth time for WTAMU to recognize an Intern of the Year. The award is designed to honor an outstanding student who has participated in an internship and made a significant contribution to the employer. Monroe was selected for the honor from a field of 20 nominees.

Monroe began working for BlueCross BlueShield in June 2018 as a sales delivery support intern, where she worked with various members of the department learning the different roles involved in account implementation and the installation of clients.

“I was given the opportunity to sit in on high-level executive meetings to learn the ins and outs of client implementation,” Monroe said. “This was a great learning experience for me—the core values and culture of this company keep its members at the forefront of everything they do. I have never felt more called to a job than this one.”

As part of her intern experience, Monroe was elected to serve as the team captain for one of eight teams in the company’s intern innovation challenge. The challenge was to help bring mental health awareness to students in high school and college. She worked with her team to utilize a system of mental health tests along with an app. Morgan and her team were encouraged to share their challenge with the vice president of innovation so the value of the idea could be shared with the company. She also helped with a PowerPoint presentation on healthcare limitations for rural communities in Texas.

“Morgan showed courage and leadership in her ability to engage with C-Suite level executives of the company,” Karen Lewis, director of product implementation, said. “She used her communication skills and was inclusive of peers and coworkers. Her hard-working attitude and positive personality shined through here at BlueCross BlueShield.”

Monroe, who is a candidate for graduation in May 2019, is well versed when it comes to internships. In addition to her BlueCross BlueShield experience this past summer, she also has served as an intern for two other companies. From September through December 2017 she served as a knowledge management intern for Southwest Airlines and from November 2015-July 2016, Monroe was an intern for the Panhandle PBS’s Big Idea Challenge Fundraiser. She currently works as a communication and community outreach support intern in the Office of the President at WTAMU.

She is a member of Lambda Pi Eta Honor Society and serves as the academic chair for Zeta Tau Alpha and the publicity chair for Student Government. Her volunteer activities include One Chair at a Time, The Word at Work, Bright Pink and ACTS.

“Morgan has been an outstanding student of mine,” Connie McKee, associate lecturer and director of forensics, said. “I have watched her improve upon her public speaking skills, develop her professional skills and grow in her interpersonal skills. I can see the dedication and drive in Morgan to succeed in all she does.”

The 20 nominees for the 2018 honor are listed by major and internship.

Christian Brooks, agriculture—Hart Independent School District
Brienna Cheney, accounting—Victor B. Glenn, CPA
Ashley Criswell, communication disorders—West Texas Speech and Hearing Clinic
Samantha Gonzales, social work—Advo Companies
Emily Howell, agriculture business and economics—Friona Industries
Lyounghee Lian Kim, communications—KNY Media Co.
Dan Kratz, psychology—WTAMU Student Counseling Services
Brian Leitch, accounting—Interned with Matador Resources
Ellis Linke, agriculture media an d communications—Local Llano Foodshed
Will McAfee, broadcast electronic media—WTAMU Office of Student Engagement and Leadership
Morgan Monroe, corporate communication—BlueCross BlueShield of Texas
Lauren Moore, agricultural medial and communication—American Quarter Horse Association
Kaitlin Nease, sports and exercise sciences—WTAMU Recreational Sports
Rogelio Onofre, political science—Clavellinas Project, The Texas A&M University System
Anika Parks, agricultural media and communication—AgriLife Extension Service, Randall County
Bella Pavita, computer science—Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.
Marie Rubright, pre-veterinary science—Cowgirls and Cowboys in the West
Ryan Lane Spivey, agricultural business and economics—Eco-Drip Irrigation
Savannah Tarbet, mass communications-PR and advertising—Amarillo Economic Development Corporation
Kaycie Timm, agricultural media and communication—American Quarter Horse Association



Post a Comment