Gallery Reception to Recognize 2017-2018 University Award Winners

Nov. 6, 2018

CONTACT:    Rik Andersen, 806-651-2127,

COPY BY:     Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129,

Gallery Reception to Recognize 2017-2018 University Award Winners


CANYON, Texas—Faculty and staff award winners at West Texas A&M University will be honored during a Gallery of Excellence reception from 2:30-4 p.m. Thursday, Nov.15 in Cornette Library on campus. The annual come-and-go event recognizes the 2017-2018 excellence award winners with the installation of their environmental portraits in the Gallery of Excellence located on the first floor in the library. Two faculty members recently named as Regents Professors by The Texas A&M University System also will be recognized.

The event is hosted each fall by the WTAMU Office of Communications, Marketing and Events for the recipients, their friends, families and colleagues. The event was created more than 25 years ago to give University award winners the recognition they deserve. Environmental photos of the award winners are taken by Rik Andersen, University photographer and will hang in the Gallery of Excellence through November 2019.

Faculty and staff whose portraits will be featured this year in the Gallery of Excellence are:

Samantha Green, manager of student employment—Staff Employee of the Year;

Mark Hiner, assistant vice president for business and finance—Clarence E. Thompson Staff Excellence Award;

Dr. Amy Von Lintel, associate professor of art history—Magister Optimus Award;

Dr. Bonney MacDonald, professor of English—University Instructional Excellence Award;

Dr. William ‘Jim’ Rogers, professor of environmental sciences—Regents Professor

Joe Bill Sherrod, assistant vice president of leadership gifts and development—Staff Excellence Award;

Johnny Story, broadcast engineer—Staff Excellence Award;

Dr. Jean Stuntz, professor of history, Regents Professor;

Dr. Arn Womble, assistant professor of engineering—University Intellectual Contribution Award; and

Dr. Jason Yarbrough, assistant professor of chemistry—University Professional Service Award.




Post a Comment