Engler College of Business Recognizes Leadership

May 3, 2019

CONTACT: Dr. Neil Terry, 806-651-2530, nterry@wtamu.edu


WT Student and Community Leadership Honored at COB Symposium

CANYON, Texas—The Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business at West Texas A&M University recognized outstanding student and community leaders at its sixth annual COB Symposium. The event also included presentations by student groups; the CFA Research Challenge Team, Media Minds and Enactus. The 2019 honorees include the following:

Outstanding Business Graduate Awards

  • BBA Accounting, John Culwell—Amarillo, Texas
  • CPA Accounting Education Foundation Award, Tasha Brown—Canyon, Texas
  • B.S. Economics, Travis Whitacre—Saginaw, Texas
  • BBA Finance, Cristian Santana Oviedo—San Antonio, Texas
  • BBA Computer Information Systems, Gabrielle Ashley—Bulverde, Texas
  • BBA Management, Brayden Cruth—Amarillo, Texas
  • BBA Marketing, Alejandra Pacheco—San Salvador, El Salvador
  • BBA General Business, Omar Aguirre—Denver City, Texas
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Business Student, Shelby Hensley—Amarillo, Texas
  • Outstanding Graduate Business Student, Mary Hayward—Amarillo, Texas

Student Organization Leadership Awards

  • Accounting and Finance Association, John Culwell—Amarillo, Texas
  • CFA Research Challenge, Corey Orthengren—Amarillo, Texas
  • Economics Club, Mary Hayward—Amarillo, Texas
  • Carey Lyles Emerging Technology Award, Mara Kinoff—Parachute, Colo.
  • BuffTeks, Gabriella Vanessa Valenzuela—Pampa, Texas
  • SHRM, Marcus Zeiller—Arlington, Texas
  • Association for Latino Professionals of America, Brittany Perez—Amarillo, Texas
  • American Marketing Association, Duy Anh Nguyen—Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Media Minds, Trevor Fleeman—Amarillo, Texas
  • Enactus, Eric Mesa—Amarillo, Texas
  • Student Government—Elise Toley, Polson, Mont.

Paul and Virginia Engler Students of Distinction Awards

  • Terio Bost—Lubbock, Texas
  • Adrian Cervantes—Amarillo, Texas
  • Ezekiel Swanson—Denver, Colo.
  • Thornton West—Amarillo, Texas

Student Research Enhancement

  • Travis Whitacre—Saginaw, Texas

*with Drs. Anne Barthel and Ryan Mattson as Faculty Mentors

Community Awards

  • Ambassador Award—Boone Pickens
  • Employer of the Year Award—CGI
  • Horizon Award—Chris Lyons
  • Legacy Award—David and Sherry Schaeffer




Post a Comment