Engler College of Business Inducts Students into Academic Honor Societies

May 2, 2019

CONTACT: Dr. Neil Terry, 806-651-2530, nterry@wtamu.edu


Engler College of Business Inducts Students into Academic Honor Societies

CANYON, Texas—The Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business has announced the induction of several students from West Texas A&M University into three honor societies associated with business studies.

The economics society, Omicron Delta Epsilon, is one of the world's largest academic honor societies with approximately 600 chapters worldwide, including the Nu Chapter established at WT in 1970. The board of trustees for the organization includes well-known recipients of the Nobel Prize in economic sciences. Dr. Neil Meredith is the faculty adviser and helped initiate eight students into the chapter for the spring 2019 semester. These students are:

  • Terio Bost—Lubbock, Texas
  • John Thomas Damon—Belcourt, N.D.
  • Kristopher Ferguson—West Sussex, U.K.
  • Rachel Victoria Hawkins—Caldwell, Texas
  • Eric Lawrence—Ridgecrest, Calif.
  • Brandon McBride—Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Jonathan Patrick—Lewisville, Texas
  • Timothy James Putnam—Fletcher, N.C.

Alpha Mu Alpha is an honorary society of the American Marketing Association open to qualified undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty members for academic excellence in marketing. The national Alpha Mu Alpha organization was established in 1981, and WT’s chapter was established in 2016. Dr. Robert King is the faculty adviser and helped induct 16 new members. These students include:  

  • Victoria Allums—New Caney, Texas
  • Kyle Coia—Des Moines, Iowa
  • Nicholas Dow—Amarillo, Texas
  • Jelina Fernando—West Sussex, U.K.
  • Emily B. Golding—San Diego, Calif.
  • Kleddao Jitchuenchote—Bangkok, Thailand
  • Kamble Lane—Lubbock, Texas
  • Connie McGee—Port Charlotte, Fla.
  • Colton McMains—Glendale, Ariz.
  • Duy Anh Nguyen—Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Alejandra Magaly Pacheco Lopez—San Salvador, El Salvador
  • Jacob Rogers—Amarillo, Texas
  • Ezekiel J. Swanson—Denver, Colo.
  • Madison Thetford—Amarillo, Texas
  • Marlene van Mourik—Hovborg, Denmark
  • Lauren Walsh—Amarillo, Texas

The society based on computing and information, Upsilon Pi Epsilon, was organized at Texas A&M University in 1967 as the first and only society focused on the discipline. The international organization now consists of chapters in various colleges and universities in North America and overseas. Dr. Leon Chen is the faculty adviser and helped welcome 15 students into the chapter. These students include:

  • Angelica Alonzo—Hereford, Texas
  • Steven Bellenot—Redding, Conn.
  • Karthikeyan Chakravarthy—Northlake, Texas
  • John Cunningham—Amarillo, Texas
  • Becca Gerlich—Canyon, Texas
  • Ryan Gross—Amarillo, Texas
  • Aaron Hebert—Amarillo, Texas
  • James Long—Houston, Texas
  • Mason McCollum—Canyon, Texas
  • Cuong Nguyen—Danang, Vietnam
  • Justin Pickard—Lorenzo, Texas
  • Benjamin Schenkman—Enfield, Conn.
  • Olga Sheehan—Natick, Mass.
  • Joanna Summerlin—Canyon, Texas
  • Kenneth Thevenin—Taylor, Texas



Post a Comment