Department of Communication Inducts Hall of Fame


Oct. 4, 2019

CONTACT: Dr. Trudy Hanson, 806-651-2800,

Communication Hall of Fame Inductees Honored at WT

Communication Hall of Fame 2019

*Pictured left to right: Doneric Norwood, Zenobia Harris Bivens, Kerry Moore, Sulema Salazar and Jamey Neill.

Canyon, Texas—Five graduates of West Texas A&M University’s Department of Communication were inducted into the Communication Hall of Fame on Friday, Sept. 27. Among those honored were Zenobia Harris Bivens, partner at Berg & Androphy (Houston); Jamey (Karr) Neill, radio broadcaster (Amarillo); Dr. Kerry Moore, retired speech and theatre teacher (Muleshoe); Doneric Norwood, owner of MenuRunners, Inc. (Dallas); and Sulema Salazar, Telemundo 44 anchor (Washington, D.C.).

The evening began with appetizers and a chance for those in attendance to meet with student members of the Buffalo Advertising team, the WT Leadership mentors, and KWTS staff members.

Kirk Scarborough, who in 2015 was chosen for the Rising Star Award, served as the emcee.

Rising Star Awards were presented to Kase Wilbanks, a KCBD news anchor in Lubbock, and Viridiana Diaz, an Emmy-nominated videographer and graphics editor for the NBA’s Oklahoma City Thunder.

The Campus Partner Award was presented to the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum for its partnership with the Department of Communication on a number of initiatives, including a study abroad program in 2019.

The Community Partner award was presented to the Communication Alumni Network for its continued support of the department.

The World of Difference Award was presented to Verna Hodge, an academic adviser for the Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities.

Former WT provost James Hallmark, who now serves as vice chancellor for academic affairs for the Texas A&M University system, received the Eternal Flame Award.

Bivins, who earned a B.S. in broadcasting in 2003, is a partner with Berg and Androphy, who focuses primarily on business litigation and government compliance with cases from civil to criminal. She graduated summa cum laude from the University of Alabama with a master’s in Communication Studies and earned her law degree from Northwestern

University School of Law. In 2018, she was named one of the top female lawyers in Texas. While accepting her award, she spoke of the many fond memories she had as a student at WT. She really enjoyed her time at WT and thanked several teachers and advisors for encouraging her and pushing her to become who she is today.

Neill, who earned a B.A. in 1995, known in radio broadcasting as “Jamey Karr,” has spent the last 40 years as an Amarillo broadcaster. At WT, Jamey was the first station manager for KWTS, 91.1. Jamey talked about the beginning of his career working at Z-93 Amarillo. Neill told the story of how he received his on-air name. Another radio host already working there with a last name that was too similar to Neill’s so his producer ran and grabbed a phone book, turned to the middle of the book and pointed to a name. That name happened to be “Karr” and ever since that day, he has been known as Jamey Karr.

Moore, who earned a B.A. in speech in 1960, began his teaching career in speech and theatre at Muleshoe High School in 1960. As a student, he was active in the Student Senate and the Buffalo Bills, a student service organization. He later completed his doctorate in 1993 from LaSalle University. During Dr. Moore’s teaching career, his students won 31 state championships in speech and debate. He has directed 13 one-act plays that advanced to the state tournament and won two state championships. In his nomination letter, former student, Judd Baker, wrote: “Dr. Moore taught at Muleshoe High School for more than 50 years. He has taught my grandma, her four siblings, my mother, two uncles, and myself.” While giving his acceptance speech, Dr. Moore talked about the silly pranks he would pull on his fellow dorm mates, and he smiled from ear to ear when he spoke about a bad snow storm happened during his time as a student at WT.

Norwood, who earned a B.S. in broadcasting in 2001 and M.A. in communication in 2003, serves as president and chief empower officer at MenuRunners Inc. In 2001, during his time as a WT student, Norwood was presented the “Ambassador Award” for dedication, excellence and commitment to mass communication. Norwood thanked everyone for his nomination and said a special thanks to his wife, daughters, and mother for helping him become the man he is today. He said the fact that he was raised by a single mother who worked three jobs showed him how to have an effective work ethic and do something important with his life.

All of the evening’s nominees seemed to have one thing in common. They each spoke about how they would not be where they are today if it had not been for the peers, teachers and advisers at West Texas A&M University who helped guide them and push them to become better versions of themselves.

In order to be selected into the Communication Hall of Fame, one must be a graduate of WT’s Department of Communication, work in their professional field for a minimum of 5 years, make a substantial contribution to the profession and have active community involvement.