SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Parent Resources

We want to work with you in supporting your student's success

Picture of Student Success CoordinatorsFirst off, let us congratulate all you parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, older siblings, godparents, foster parents, and other guardians who have provided the attention, care, love, support, blood, sweat, and tears to see your student succeed! All of your hard and wonderful work (and we know it is) raising these children has paid off and your young adult is now a college student. The Student Success Coordinators are here to provide an extra layer of support for your student during their time with us here at West Texas A&M University. We are here to listen and encourage, to connect them with the right services at the right time, and to help them learn the skills they need to succeed. If you would like to visit with your student's college/school-specific coordinator, please feel free to contact us here. There are some limitations to what we can share (FERPA), but we would be happy to learn from you about your student and work with you in a concerted effort to grow outstanding young adults.

 

Here are some links to answer a few questions you may have:

What important information about WT do I need to know?

The Consumer Information page provides links to all of our university information that is required to be disclosed to the public.

What are the statistics regarding student enrollment at WT?

The Student Achievement Goals and Success page (this page is currently 'under construction' to add updated data) has several charts that show WT's progress over the years.

How safe is my student while attending WT?

The Campus Safety and Security page gives reports and office contacts from those who's only goal is to keep your student safe.

Who can I talk to about...?

The University's main Contact Us page has phone numbers, directory links, and our mailing address.

Here are some links to a few books that may help with this time of transition:

The iConnected Parent: Staying Close to Your Kids in college (and Beyond) While Letting Them Grow Up by Barbara K Hoffer and Abigail Sullivan Moore

The Naked Roommate: For Parents Only, A Parent's Guide to the New College Experience by Harlan Cohen

The Happiest Kid on Campus, A Parent's Guide to the Very Best College Experience (for You and Your Child) by Harlan Cohen

Stop Parenting, Start Coaching: How to Motivate, Inspire and Connect With Your Teenager by Carol Carter, Gary Izumo and Joe Martin

Letting Go: A Parent's Guide to Understanding the College Years by Karen Levin Coburn and Madge Lawrence Treeger

1001 Things Every Teen Should Know Before They Leave Home (Or Else They'll Come Back) by Harry H Harrison Jr

1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) by Harry H Harrison Jr

There Is Life After College: What Parents and Students Should Know About Navigating School to Prepare for the Jobs of Tomorrow by Jeffrey J Selingo


And a few more links/office phone numbers for most everything else:

ACADEMIC ASSISTANCE and PROGRAMS

DEPT/AREA NAME/OFFICE FUNCTION ROOM
PH# EMAIL/WEB PAGE
Academic Study Skills   Tips and Tools for Academic Success   Academic Study Skills
Experiential Learning and the QEP - Campus to Community Dr. George Pacheco Service Learning, Research, and Internships 806-651-2530 gpacheco@
C2C Web Page
Honors Dr. Pam Lockwood Attebury Honors Program 806-651-2736 plockwood@
Honors Web Page
McNair Scholars Mike Cook or
Victoria Salas
Summer Research and GRE Prep Program 806-651-5294 mcook@ or vsalas@
McNair Web Page
President's Undergraduate Student Research Grant Glenda Norton Student Research Funding 806-651-2983 gnorton@wtamu.edu
Sponsored Research
Student Research Conference Dr. Pam Lockwood WTAMU Student Research 806-651-2536 src@
Research Conference
Study Abroad Carolina Galloway International Experience, Passports 806-651-5309 cgalloway@wtamu.edu
Study Abroad

COLLEGES/SCHOOLS and DEPARTMENTS

DEPT/AREA NAME/OFFICE FUNCTION/ROOM
PH# EMAIL/WEB PAGE
Athletics Jim Glovach Rosters 806-651-4407 jglovach@
GoBuffsGo
Agriculture and Natural Sciences Rebekah Bachman Substitutions, Degree Plans 806-651-3570 rbachman@
ANS
College of Business Darlene Brasington Substitutions, Degree Plans 806-651-4301 dbrasington@
COB
College of Business Undergrad Office 806-651-2525 COBUndergrad@
Engineering, Computer Sciences, and Mathematics   Substitutions, Degree Plans 806-651-5257
ECSM
Education and Social Sciences Kathy Lefever Substitutions, Degree Plans 806-651-2600 klefever@
ESS
Fine Arts and Humanities Verna Hodge Substitutions, Degree Plans 806-651-2782 vhodge@
FAH
Nursing and Health Sciences Vicki Hamblen Substitutions, Degree Plans 806-651-3500 vhamblen@
NHS

FINANCIAL

DEPT/AREA NAME/OFFICE FUNCTION/ROOM
PH# EMAIL/WEB PAGE
ACE Scholarship Martin Lopez Ace Program Questions 806-651-2351 mlopez@
Buffalo Gold Card  Beth Mowry BGC Inquiry 806-651-4653 bmowry@
Buff Gold Card Office
Business Office Julie Harvell Billing Questions 806-651-2086 jharvell@
Business Office
Business Office John Bassett Emergency Loan Questions 806-651-2085 jbassett@
Business Office
Business Office DESK B.O. Holds 806-651-2080 bo@wtamu
Business Office
Nationally Competitive Scholarships Laura Seals Fellowships 806-651-2587 lseals@
NCS
Financial Aid Fran Hackman Financial Aid 806-651-2041 fheckman@
Financial Aid
Scholarships DESK General inquiries 806-651-3330 scholarships@
Scholarships

REGISTRATION and ENROLLMENT

DEPT/AREA NAME/OFFICE FUNCTION/ROOM
PH# EMAIL/WEB PAGE
Advising and Early Alert DESK Greenlighting, Changes, Referrals 806-651-5300 advisingservices@
Advising
Registrar Linda Elliot Athletic Eligibility 806-651-4904 lelliot@
Registrar Diane Brice Colleague and Informer 806-651-4902 dbrice@
Registrar Brandi Clark Registration, Withdrawal 806-651-4905 bclark@

STUDENT SERVICES

DEPT/AREA NAME/OFFICE FUNCTION/ROOM
PH# EMAIL/WEB PAGE
BITeam Student Affairs Disruptive Behavior Intervention 806-651-2050 Submit a Report
Buff Allies Dr. Kristina Drumheller Safe Zones for LGBTQIA 806-651-2816 kdrumheller@
Buff Allies
Career Services Amber Black Career Services 806-651-2530 ablack@
Career Services
Counseling Services Dayna Schertler Counseling 806-651-2340 dschertler@
Student Counseling Services
Disability Services Teri Simpson Student Disability, Modifications, etc. 806-651-2335 tsimpson@
Student Disability Services
Diversity and Inclusion Angela Allen University Experience 806-651-8480 diversity-inclusion@
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Information Technology (IT) DESK IT inquiries 806-651-4357 itsc@
Information Technology
Lost and Found Ana Rojas Lost and Found 806-651-2366 lostandfound@
Search Lost and Found
Medical Services DESK Clinic, OTC, Classes, Contraceptives, etc. 806-651-3287 medical@
Student Medical Services
Parking Jerry Faltinek Parking Holds 806-651-2308 jfaltinek@
Parking Services
Residential Living DESK Student Housing 806-651-3000 housing@wtamu.edu
Res Living
StrengthsQuest MULTIPLE Individual Talents and Strengths   buffstrong@
StrengthsQuest
Student Enrollment, Engagement, and Success Mary Hiner Student Enrollment, Engagement, and Success, Holds 806-651-2385 mlhiner@wtamu.edu
Student Enrollment, Engagement, and Success
Student Engagement and Leadership Allison Hurst Organizations, Leadership, PULSE, Branding 806-651-2313 ahurst@
OSEL Web page
Title IX Holds Georganna Ecker Holds on Title IX 806-651-3199 gecker@
Title IX
University Police DESK Night escort, Unlock car, Victim assistance 806-651-2300 UPD Webpage

The contents of this web page were developed under a grant from the Department of Education which do not necessarily represent the policy of the Department of Education, and you should not assume endorsement by the Federal Government.