West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Student Government

Student Government                                 

Student Government's Facebook PageStudent Government is one of the most active student organizations at West Texas A&M University. By evaluating issues that affect the student body, Student Government works closely with faculty and staff to ensure an academically challenging University while providing many opportunities for fun.

Three branches make up Student Government: executive, legislative, and judicial. Each branch represents the student body in a different way, while providing checks and balances on the other branches.

Executive Branch

Legislative Branch

Judicial Branch


College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences

College of Business

School of Engineering Computer Science and Mathematics

College of Education and Social Sciences

Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities

College of Nursing and Health Sciences




Executive Branch                                                                                                        Back to top

Landry Morren Student Body President

Landry Morren
Student Body President

Phone: 806-651-2386
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 104
Email:­ lmorren@wtamu.edu

The student body president presides over the executive branch of the Student Government. The president represents the student body and is the principal liaison between WTAMU students and the faculty, staff and administration. The president also acts as the chief executive officer of the Student Government. The president is the official student spokesperson for the University at the local, system, state and national levels. The student body president is responsible for appointing students to University standing committees and is accountable for seeing that all provisions of the WTAMU constitution are faithfully executed.

Legislative Branch                                                                                                      Back to top

Zach McMeans Student Body Vice President

Zach McMeans
Student Body Vice President
Student Senate President

Phone: 806-651-2387
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 104
Email:­ zmcmeans@wtamu.edu

The student body vice president and student senate president is responsible for the legislative branch of Student Government. This branch consists of Student Senate with approximately 35 elected senators who represent WTAMU students in their designated college or freshmen and graduate students. The purpose of student senate is to represent the students' views to the University administration. Through bills, resolutions and committees, Student Senate takes action on various University issues and student concerns.­


Student Government Committees

The four committees within Student Senate develop goals that benefit the entire student body, working to achieve these goals during the semester. The four committees are:

  • Rules and Appropriations - Chair Jacob Osborn
  • Academic Affairs - Chair Ricardo Ivan Soto
  • Student Affairs - Chair Chandler Huddleston
  • Public Relations - Chair Levi Reid

If you would like to get involved with Student Government, consider ­joining Student Senate. Each college is designated a specific number of senators, based on the number of students in their college. If a vacancy is available in your college, download, print, and fill out the application below and bring it by JBK 102.

Online Senate Vacancy Application

Meeting Agenda

Meeting Minutes


Judicial Branch                                                                                                          Back to top

Ben Gilliland Student Body Chief Justice

Ben Gilliland
Student Body Chief Justice

Phone: 806-651-2388
Office: Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Room 104
Email:­ bgilliland@wtamu.edu

The chief justice is the presiding officer over the judicial branch of the Student Government and forms the Student Judicial Board (SJB) with four associate justices. The chief justice oversees general elections and referendums.

  • Chief Justice Pro Tem - Kacy Segrist
  • Associate Justice - Niall Pratt
  • Associate Justice - Jared Zang

­Senators 2016-2017                                                                                                    Back to top

College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences (ANS) - 6 Seats

Abdikani Jama - ANSMicah DavidsonPaige HatfieldMeagan BrownJordan RayburgCodi Miller

  • Abdikani Jama
  • Micah Davidson
  • Paige Hatfield
  • Meagan Brown
  • Jordan Rayburg
  • Codi Miller

­ ­

College of Business  (COB) - 11 Seats                                                                 Back to top
Conrad NavarroKat RomeroSalvador RuizBen ArbucklePedro Dos Santos

Chandler HuddlestonRigo BaezaRyan HabinakKordell BakerKarina VillafuertaLuis Montoya

  • Conrad Navarro                                        
  • Kat Romero
  • Salvador Ruiz
  • Ben Arbuckle
  • Pedro Dos Santos
  • Chandler Huddleston
  • Rigo Baeza
  • Ryan Habinak
  • Kordell Baker
  • Karina Villafuerta
  • Luis Montoya

School of Engineering Computer Science and Mathematics  (ECSM) - 3 Seats      Back to top

Jacob OsbornRicardo Ivan SotoJason Solis

  • Jacob Osborn
  • Ricardo Ivan Soto
  • Jason Solis

College of Education and Social Sciences (ESS) - 10 Seats                                    Back to top

Levi ReidLindsey O'NealFabian AcostaWendy MartinezJulianna CalvarusoAndrew PalominRyan Francis

  • Levi Reid
  • Lindsey O'Neal
  • Fabian Acosta
  • Wendy Martinez
  • Julianna Calvaruso
  • Andrew Palomin
  • Ryan Francis
  • Amanda Clawson

Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities (FAH) - 7 Seats                Back to top

Reece McKillipAndrew AlexanderTreston JohnsonSkyler Bonneau

  • Reece McKillip
  • Andrew Alexander
  • Treston Johnson
  • Skyler Bonneau
  • Jessi Bangs

College of Nursing and Health Sciences (NHS) - 6 Seats                                            Back to top

Isabella AguayoShelby HillMaeghan HerridgeNair B. YabohAmariah Maes

  • Isabella Aguayo
  • Shelby Hill
  • Maeghan Herridge
  • Nair B. Yaboh
  • Amariah Maes
  • Courtney Harrison

Freshman - 8 Seats

Ryan NeGronElise TolleyScout OdegaardDalton HowardJose NavarratteEmily Howell

  • Ryan NeGron
  • Elise Tolley
  • Scout Odegaard
  • Dalton Howard
  • Jose Navarrette
  • Emily Howell
  • Brice Boyd
  • Matthew Smith

Graduates - 11 Seats