West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
WTAMU Offers Free Preview of

Feb. 19, 2013

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Offers Free Preview of ‘Iphigenia 2.0’

Production to compete at regional theatre festival

CANYON, Texas—The theatre program at West Texas A&M University will present a preview performance of Iphigenia 2.0 at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 22 at the Branding Iron Theatre in the Sybil B. Harrington Fine Arts Complex.

The preview is free and open to the public. Seating is limited and is on a first come, first served basis.

The production, intended for mature audiences only, is one of six plays competing this month at the regional festival of the Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) hosted by Centenary College in Shreveport, La. The WTAMU cast will perform at 8 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 28 at the Strand Theatre in downtown Shreveport. Tickets for the festival performance are available at centenary.edu/kcactftix.

The University’s production will compete with four other regional schools at the event. The four other schools are University of Louisiana—Lafayette, Reasons to Be Pretty; Sam Houston State University, Spring Awakening; University of Arkansas—Fort Smith, Drømnium; Sam Houston State University, Enron and Angelo State University, Staccato Man.

The production, directed by Stephen Crandall, assistant professor of theatre, earned the chance to advance after receiving several Respondent Awards in November. Two respondents attended the Nov. 16 and 17 performance of Iphigenia 2.0 and gave the production three Meritorious Achievement Awards as well as three Irene Ryan Acting Award/Nominations.

WTAMU theatre majors involved in the production include: Lauren Bowler, Connor Brent, Caleb Brink, Kaylie DeLauri, Reilly Downes, Alexandra Easterling, Fabian Garcia, Levi Gore, Chase Harrison, Eric Harrison, Megan Hjerpe, Conner Hodge, Alexander Hope, Michael Hoy, Brooklynn James, Randryck Lewis, Sandra Lopez, Melissa McCallum, Jessica Morrow, Joseph Munoz, Jason Payton, Christopher Ratliff, Jaclyn Redmon, Julia Rucker, Chandler Shaw, Nykol Taliaferro, Katie Tuttle, Shandee Vaughan, Kyla Williams, Randi Wilson and Andrew Young.



Post a Comment