Students Recognized at Honors Banquet

May 5, 2009

CONTACT:    Dr. Don Albrecht, 806-651-2050,

COPY BY:    Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129,

Students Recognized at Honors Banquet

CANYON, Texas—Outstanding students and campus organizations were honored with the coveted Silver Buffalo Award during West Texas A&M University’s annual Honors Banquet.

The prestigious Silver Buffalo Awards are reserved for an elite group that includes only individuals, teams or organizations whose accomplishments have brought national honor or distinction to the University.

The individual receiving Silver Buffalo recognition at the banquet was:
• Buff quarterback Keith Null, a senior in sports and exercise sciences from Lampasas, ranked first nationally in passing yards per game, second nationally in total offensive yards and fourth nationally in passing efficiency as a member of the 2008 Buff football team. Null led the Buffs to an 11-2 season and was named Offensive MVP for WTAMU and the Valero Cactus Bowl. He also set new WT, Lone Star Conference and NCAA playoff records.

Teams receiving Silver Buffalo recognition at the Honors Banquet were:
• The Lady Buff Basketball team wrapped up the season with a 28-6 record and earned WT its first trip to the NCAA Division II Women’s Elite Eight since 1997;
• The WTAMU Herdsmen were ready and willing to help during an outing to Palo Duro Canyon. The organization displayed courage, grace and skill to help Amy Baucom when she fell from her horse and broke her neck. The Herdsmen also were there to support her through surgery; and
• For the 15th consecutive year, SIFE (Students In Free Enterprise) won a regional championship at the SIFE USA Regional Competition and will compete at the SIFE USA National Exposition May 10-13.

Dr. Don Albrecht, vice president for student affairs, presented four special awards at the Honors Banquet recognizing top-performing organizations, students and advisers.

Phi Delta Theta Fraternity was named Outstanding Student Organization (not funded), while Outstanding Student Organization (funded) went to Student Government.

Kirk Scarbrough was named Outstanding Student Organization President for his role as president
of Circle K (not compensated), and Amy Thompson was named Outstanding Student Organization President for her role as president of Student Government (compensated). Kathey Walker, coordinator of the Honors Program, was named Outstanding Student Organization Adviser for her work as adviser of Circle K.

Twenty-nine WTAMU students also were recognized as Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges for 2009-2009. The honorees are listed by hometown, classification and major.
Stephanie Fowler, junior mass communication major
Veronica McClanahan, senior social work major
Tiffany Prichard, junior mechanical engineering major
Lauren Salazar, senior biology/pre-optometry major
Katie Gustainis, junior speech communication major
Luis Flores, junior international business major
Amie Merydith, junior mass communication major
Hugo Martinez, junior mechanical engineering major
Jill Baxter, senior accounting major
Rachel Goss, senior special education major
Jason Nelms, junior general business major
Michelle Pardo, junior mass communication major
Jonas Rios, senior mass communication/broadcasting major
Leanna Sharber, senior social work major
Carrie Vandiver, junior animal science major
Megan Walker, senior education major
Denise Pizana, senior education major
Lauren Johnson, senior nursing major
Thomas Young, junior accounting major
Victor Enriquez, junior social work major
Angela Henthorn, senior mathematics major
Panama, Okla.    
Gabrielle Potts, senior accounting major
David West, senior mechanical engineering major
Raton, N.M.        
Tammy Luksich, junior mass communication major
Gid Mayfield, junior agricultural business and economics major
Britta Vanderburg, junior education major
Andrew Sedlacek, junior music education major
Janie Wagner, junior agribusiness major
Wichita Falls      
Kirk Scarbrough, junior speech communication major



Post a Comment