West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Reception to Honor University Faculty, Staff Award Winners

Nov. 2, 2012

COPY BY: Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

Reception to Honor University Faculty, Staff Award Winners

CANYON, Texas—West Texas A&M University will honor faculty and staff award winners during a special Gallery of Excellence reception from 3-4:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 6 in Cornette Library on campus. The annual come-and-go event recognizes the 2011-2012 excellence award winners with the hanging of their environmental portraits in the Gallery of Excellence located on the first floor in the library.

The event is hosted each fall by the WTAMU Office of Communication and Marketing for the recipients, their friends, families and colleagues. The event was created 20 years ago to give University award winners the recognition they deserve. The event venue and name have changed in recent years, but environmental portraits of the award winners continue to be taken by Rik Andersen, University photographer.

Faculty and staff members whose portraits will be featured in the Gallery of Excellence are:
Dr. Brock Blaser, assistant professor of plant science—Instructional Excellence Award;
Dr. Bruce Brasington, professor of history—Regents Professor;
Dr. Gary Byrd, professor of psychology—Magister Optimus Award;
Mark Hiner, assistant vice president for business and finance—Clarence E. Thompson Award;
Dr. Emily Hunt, associate professor of mechanical engineering—Alumni Association University Excellence Award;
Dr. Andrew Li, Williams Professor of Marketing—Intellectual Contributions Award;
Dr. Jean Stuntz, professor of history—Professional Service Award;
April Swindell, administrative assistant in the Graduate School—Staff Excellence Award;
Nang Syphokham, custodian—Staff Excellence Award; and
Barb Zellers, assistant to the director of Career and Counseling Services—Staff Excellence Award.



Post a Comment