Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business Announces Professorship Appointment

Dec. 18, 2017

CONTACT:    Dr. Neil Terry, 806-651-2530,

Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business Announces Professorship Appointment


CANYON, Texas—Dr. Leslie Ramos Salazar has been named the Amjad A. Abdullat Professor of Business in the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business at West Texas A&M University.

The Abdullat Professorship of Business was established by Drs. Amjad Abdullat, Taghreed Maaytah and FriendsDr. Leslie Ramos Salazar of the Engler College of Business. The purpose of the professorship is to enhance student engagement opportunities and innovation across the business curriculum. Abdullat has served as a computer information systems faculty member and administrator in the College of Business at WTAMU for 20 years, which includes service as associate dean of undergraduate business programs for the past six years.

Salazar, assistant professor of business communication and decision management, joined West Texas A&M University in 2015. She earned B.A. and M.A. degrees from California State University, Long Beach before completing a Ph.D. in communication with a minor in quantitative methods at Arizona State University in 2013. She serves as a legislative committee member for the National Communication Association and is the faculty adviser for the WTAMU chapter of the Association of Latino Professionals for America. Her research highlights include journal publications in the Communication Quarterly, International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, Business and Professional Communication Quarterly, Health Communication and Business and Professional Communication Quarterly.

The announcement of the new professorship appointment brings the total to 17 endowed professorships in the Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business. The continuing professor appointments are as follows:

• Dr. Neil Meredith, Hassan and Jill Dana Professor of Business;
• Dr. Emily Hammer, Dr. Jerry Miller Professor of Entrepreneurship;
• Dr. Darlene Pulliam, James and Mogie McCray Professor of Business;
• Dr. Barbara Wang, Gene Edwards Professor of Banking;
• Dr. De’Arno De’Armond, Gene Edwards Professor of Financial Planning;
• Dr. Anne Macy, Gene Edwards Professor of Finance;
• Dr. Sharon Burnett, Gene Edwards Professor of Accounting;
• Dr. Nick Gerlich, J. Pat Hickman Professor of Marketing;
• Dr. James Owens, Don Hodges Professor of Corporate Governance;
• Dr. Robin Patterson, Don Patterson Professor of Business Law;
• Dr. Sean Humpherys, T. Boone Pickens Professor of Business;
• Dr. Jonathan Shaffer, T. Boone Pickens Professor of Management;
• Dr. Karyn Friske, Stanley Schaeffer Professor of Business Ethics;
• Dr. Bin Shao, Drs. Neil and Anne Terry Professor of Business;
• Dr. Jeffry Babb, Dr. Phil Gensler Professor of Computer Information Systems; and
• Dr. Andrew Li, Don Williams Professor of Management.

West Texas A&M University will honor faculty and donors of endowed professorships and chairs at a special ceremony in February. 



Post a Comment