West Texas A&M University - Home
Have You Herd? November 2010 People


November 2010

West Texas A&M University’s Police Department was recognized as the Company of the Year (COTY) by the Amarillo Chapter of International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP) at the chapter’s October meeting in Amarillo. Emily Garner, IAAP celebrations committee chair, presented the COTY award to UPD Chief Shawn Burns, who accepted on behalf of the WTAMU police department. The department was nominated by Carla Banks, UPD administrative secretary and IAAP member, for recognizing the professional skills of the administrative assistant position and its encouragement of all UPD employees to continue their education through classes, training and/or self-improvement courses.

Dr. Don Albrecht, vice president for student affairs, was a presenter at the annual conference of the Texas Association of College and University Student Personnel Administrators Oct. 3-5 in Fort Worth. His presentation was titled “Dollars and Sense—What New Professionals Need to Know About Budgets, the Legislature and Strategic Planning.” He also presented a session with Amber Black, manager of the WTAMU Student Success Center. Their presentation was titled “Tearing Down Walls: How Student Affairs and Academic Affairs Worked Together to Build a Student Success Center.”

Dr. De’Arno De’Armond, Hickman Professor of Marketing, is the author of an article published in the October Journal of Global Business Management, Vol. 6, Num. 2. The title is “An Empirical Examination of Financial Literacy Message Theme Effectiveness Among College Students: Debt or Saving?”

Dr. Jeffrey Doty, Wendy and Stanley Marsh 3 Assistant Professor of English, is the author of “Shakespeare’s Richard II, ‘Popularity’ and the Early Modern Public Sphere” in the 2010 Shakespeare Quarterly 61:183-205.

Dr. Nabarun Ghosh, associate professor of biology, presented a research paper Aug. 4 at the Conference of the Botanical Society of America in Providence, R.I., titled “Regeneration and Clonal Propagation of the Fastest Growing Leguminous Tree Albizia Falcataria (l.) Fosberg.” He also was a presenter at the 29th Congress of the European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology 2010 in June in London. His presentations were titled “Reduction in Microbial Pathogens Including Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus Using Xtreme 3000 and InductACT Air Purifiers” and “Allergic Rhinitis Increased in Texas Panhandle Due to an Anomalous Shift in Aeroallergen Index.”

The College of Education and Social Sciences inducted four WTAMU alumni into its Graduates of Distinction on Oct. 14 in Old Main. The four Graduates of Distinction are Selden Hale III, a criminal trial lawyer who earned a bachelor’s degree in 1965; Steven McCraw, director of the Texas Department of Safety, who earned a bachelor’s degree in 1979 and a master’s in 1981; Marsha Sharp, former head basketball coach for the Texas Tech Lady Raiders and a 1976 WTAMU graduate; and Jimmie Vaughn, senior strategic human resources adviser with the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness and a 1972 WT graduate.

Dr. Trudy Hanson, head of the Department of Communication and professor of speech communication, was named the recipient of the Texas Speech Communication Association’s (TSCA) Outstanding Service Award at the organization’s annual meeting Oct. 6-9 in Houston. The award is based on Hanson’s service as journal editor for the Texas Speech Communication Journal, her service as a former TSCA president and for encouraging student participation in the Rhetoric and Communication Theory interest group.

Lorna Strong, head of the Department of Sports and Exercise Sciences and director of the athletic training program, is the 2010 recipient of the Bobby Gunn Unsung Hero Award from the Southwest Athletic Trainers Association (SWATA). Strong received the award July 23 at the SWATA awards banquet in Arlington. The Bobby Gunn Unsung Hero Award recognizes a dedicated member who has served SWATA in a volunteer, appointed or elected capacity to promote the association and the athletic training profession. The award is named for the founding father of SWATA who served in many leadership positions at the local, district and national levels.



Post a Comment