West Texas A&M University - Home
Have You Herd? November 2009 Faculty and Staff Honors

University to Honor Faculty, Staff Award Winners

Photographer’s Work to be Featured in Adjacent Exhibit

West Texas A&M University will honor faculty and staff award winners during a special Gallery Hanging from 2-3:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 10 in Cornette Library on campus. The annual come-and-go event recognizes the 2008-2009 excellence award winners with the hanging of their environmental portraits in a new gallery located on the first floor in the library.

The Gallery Hanging is hosted each fall by the WTAMU Office of Communication and Marketing for the recipients, their friends, families and colleagues. Portraits for the Gallery Hanging are taken by Rik Andersen, University photographer. In year’s past, the portraits have been displayed in a special case in Mary Moody Northen Hall, but this year’s Gallery Hanging marks a move to a new location in Cornette Library.

In addition to the Gallery Hanging, Andersen also will showcase more of his work Nov. 1-30 in the library’s First Floor Exhibit Area. The exhibition, titled “Stuff,” will coincide with the Gallery Hanging and feature a variety of photos taken by Andersen outside of his job as the University photographer, including some that date back to his college days. Both the exhibition and the Gallery Hanging are free and open to the public.

Faculty and staff members whose portraits will be featured in the Gallery Hanging are:

  • Dr. Bruce Brasington, professor of history—Alumni Association University Excellence Award;

  • Carolyn Bryant, administrative secretary, Department of Agricultural Sciences—Staff Excellence Award;

  • Karl Kimsey, employer relations coordinator, career services—Clarence E. Thompson Staff Excellence Award;

  • Dr. Guy Loneragan, associate professor of animal science—Excellence in Intellectual Contributions Award;

  • Dr. Melody Loya, assistant professor of social work—Excellence in Service Award;

  • Dr. Byron Pearson, head of the Department of History and Geography and associate professor of history—Magister Optimus Award;

  • Dr. David Sissom, professor of biology—Regent’s Professor;

  • Dr. Bryan Vizzini, associate professor of history—Excellence in Teaching Award; and

  • James Webb, chief information officer, information technology—Staff Excellence Award.

Post a Comment