West Texas A&M University - Home
Have You Herd? March 2010 People


March 2010

Dr. Leigh Browning, associate professor of mass communication and director of broadcasting, was the recipient of a Silver Medal Award from Amarillo’s American Advertising Federation during the annual ADDY presentations Feb. 20 in Amarillo. The coveted award recognized Browning’s outstanding contributions to WTAMU, the community and the advertising profession.

Courtney Bryan, graphic designer, and Rik Andersen, University photographer, received a gold ADDY in the mixed media, national consumer category for their entry titled “Discover....The Buff In You.” Trey Roach, multimedia designer, and Charli Rae Gause, web communication manager, earned a silver ADDY in the online campaign category for their “Fall Giving Campaign.” The annual ADDY Awards were presented Feb. 20 in Amarillo.

Dr. Paul Clark, associate professor of history, Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities; Karen Cooley, instructor of accounting, College of Business; Dr. Roy Issa, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, College of Agriculture, Science and Engineering; and Kathy Snider, instructor of nursing, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, have been named Outstanding Professors for 2009-2010 by the WTAMU Scribes Chapter of Mortar Board.

Dr. Nabarun Ghosh, associate professor of biology, received a Professional Service Award from the Texas Society for Microscopy at the organization’s spring meeting in Dallas. The award recognized Ghosh’s service as president of the Society for 2008-2009.

Dr. Michael Grauer, curator of art at Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum, presented a lecture Feb. 28 at the El Paso Museum of Art titled “Into the Desert Light 1850-1960.” The presentation covered early El Paso art.

Shawna Kennedy-Witthar has been named the new director of information and library resources at Cornette Library. She has served as the interim director since May, filling the position vacated by former University Librarian Paul Coleman. She has been a member of the library staff since 1993.

Dr. Keith Redpath and Emmanuel Lopez, Harrington lecturers of music, and Dr. Denise Parr-Scanlin, assistant professor of music, were guest artists Feb. 4 at the University of Texas—Arlington. They performed trios by Antonin Dvorak and Franz Schubert at the university’s Irons Recital Hall.

Dr. Jim Rogers has been named WTAMU’s new associate dean of academic environmental health and safety in Graduate School and Research. Rogers stepped into the newly created position Feb. 15 and will lead the University’s efforts in developing University-wide protocols in the area of research.

Dr. Monica Smith-Hart, assistant professor of English, has been selected to join a network of more than 2,500 women as a member of the Leadership Texas Class of 2010. As a member of the Leadership Texas Class, Smith will visit Dallas, Laredo, Lubbock, Waco and Austin where each city’s opportunities and challenges will help to illuminate each class member’s knowledge of the state across three common themes–the economy, education and the environment.

James Webb, chief information officer, Mike Howsmon, network systems engineer, Bill Clark, system analyst II, and Lora Haasl, IITL supervisor, were presenters at the 14th annual TTVN Conference Feb. 25 in Galveston. Their presentation was titled “Digital Signage at West Texas A&M University, Case Study and Demonstration.” The conference is the state’s leading higher education event focused on the technologies of enterprise networking, video conferencing, web conferencing and distance learning. Speakers include leaders in Texas enterprise networking as well as numerous technical presentations and intensive technical workshops.

Submissions for the People section of Have You Herd? can be sent to rmcdonald@wtamu.edu.

Post a Comment