West Texas A&M University - Home
Have You Herd? April 2010 Old Main Society to Induct 15 New Members

Old Main Society to Induct 15 New Members

Fifteen new members will be recognized when the West Texas A&M University Foundation conducts its annual Old Main Society formal induction ceremony Friday, April 30 on campus.

The annual ceremony for WTAMU’s premiere donor-recognition society will begin at 5:30 p.m. with the induction of fifteen new members, one posthumously, in the foyer of Old Main. A recognition dinner with the WTAMU Alumni Association’s 47th annual Phoenix Banquet follows at 7 p.m. in the Hazel Kelley Wilson Alumni Banquet Hall.

The Old Main Society was established in 1998 to recognize individuals, organizations and corporations that have given lifetime contributions of $50,000 or more to support the students and mission of West Texas A&M. Recognition levels are Old Main Member, $50,000-$99,999; Bronze, $100,000-$249,999; Silver, $250,000-$499,999; Gold, $500,000-$999,999; Platinum, $1 million-$4,999,999 and Diamond, $5 million or more.

Contributions from Old Main Society donors endow scholarships and provide financial assistance to students, enhance instructional programs, provide faculty development opportunities and awards for outstanding teaching, and build and enhance campus facilities.

“In today’s economy, the support of private donors is even more important,” Dr. Neal Weaver, vice president of institutional advancement, said. “The Old Main Society is our way of recognizing the generosity of this special group of donors and their gifts to our University.”

The Old Main Society inductees for 2010 are:

• John G. O’Brien—Platinum;

• Scott Doores—Bronze;

• Judge Marvin Jones, posthumously—Bronze;

• Don Williams—Bronze;

• Lone Star Ballet—Bronze;

• Mary Sue Osborn Coleman and Susan Coleman—Old Main Society;

• Dr. and Mrs. James L. Cornette—Old Main Society;

• Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Foran—Old Main Society;

• Education Credit Union—Old Main Society;

• High Country Chevy Dealers—Old Main Society;

• Stan and Greta Liles—Old Main Society;

• David D. and Nona S. Payne Foundation, Inc.—Old Main Society;

• Arlie and Barbara Petty—Old Main Society;

• Drs. Neil and Anne Macy Terry—Old Main Society; and

• Mr. and Mrs. Pat Winfrey—Old Main Society.

With this year’s 15 new inductees, membership in the Old Main Society will total 159.

Tickets for the dinner are priced at $50, and reservations can be made by calling 806-651-2913.


Post a Comment