Calvi Named Teel Bivins Professor of American Politics at WTAMU

Jan. 19, 2011

COPY BY:    Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129,

Calvi Named Teel Bivins Professor of American Politics at WTAMU

CANYON, Texas—Officials at West Texas A&M University have recognized Dr. James Calvi’s excellence in teaching, scholarship and professional service by naming him the Teel Bivins Professor of American Politics. Professorship and endowed chair positions have increased at WTAMU in recent years, and Calvi, associate dean of the College of Education and Social Sciences, joins a growing list of faculty members recognized and honored by such prestigious titles.

“This high honor recognizes Dr. Calvi’s dedication to teaching excellence and his outstanding scholarship and professional contributions to his discipline,” Dr. Eddie Henderson, dean of the College of Education and Social Sciences, said. “The distinction also honors Dr. Calvi’s commitment to the University, its students and his colleagues.”

Calvi has been a member of the WTAMU faculty for 28 years. He came to the University in 1982 and by 1994 was serving as the head of the Department of History and Political Science. In 2009 he was named the associate dean of the ColleDr. James Calvige of Education and Social Sciences. He was instrumental in coordinating efforts for WTAMU’s master’s degree in criminal justice and helped start the supplemental instruction program. He has served on numerous professional and University committees and boards and has earned recognition for his work and research including the 2002-03 WTAMU Teaching Excellence Award, the 1996 University Research Excellence Award and a President’s Community Service Award. He also has numerous publications to his credit including three academic textbooks. One, co-authored with fellow faculty member Susan Coleman and titled American Law and Legal Systems, is in its seventh edition.

Calvi’s teaching areas are constitutional law and administrative law with special interest in American government, the presidency and congress.

The Teel Bivins Professor of Political Science was established in 2008 with gifts from the family, friends and colleagues of the late Ambassador Bivins and the Mary E. Bivins Foundation in recognition of his visionary leadership and the many significant contributions he made in the field of political science. The professorship generated so much response that the University was able to establish the Teel Bivins Professor of American Politics. Both professorships are appointed for three-year terms and enable the
University to identify and retain outstanding political science faculty members while paying tribute to the Bivins family.

The University will recognize Calvi and other WTAMU professors holding endowed chairs or professorships as well as the donors of those endowments at a special convocation and reception from 4-5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 15 in the Recital Hall of the Sybil B. Harrington Fine Arts Complex.



Post a Comment