West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
School of Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics Faculty

School of Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics
Faculty

Fisseha M. Alemayehu

Dr. Fisseha M. Alemayehu

Assistant Professor

“In my opinion, teaching is the most rewarding profession that someone could possibly have. As a teacher, you plant a seed of knowledge in the brains of curious minds and you harvest human beings with greater aspirations and happiness!”

falemayehu@wtamu.edu
Dr. Alemayehu's Bio  

Dr. Rajan Alex

Dr. Rajan Alex

Professor of Computer Science

"My students can expect to be enlightened on the concepts of programming paradigms. They will learn to become programmers by using programming languages as a tool to solve problems."

ralex@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Alex's Bio  

 William Ambrose

William Ambrose

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

"Teaching mathematics is so enjoyable because it has so many applications to others disciplines."

bambrose@wtamu.edu  
William Ambrose's Bio
Erick Butler

Erick Butler

Assistant Professor of Environmental Engineering

“Students are visual and relational. We must be engaging in the classroom and have practical examples that will not only prepare them for the real world, but also commit to creative ways that can assist in their learning process. I hope my students understand my strong commitment to this mission when I teach my courses.”

ebutler@wtamu.edu  
Erick Butler's Bio

 Dr. Gerald Chen

Dr. Gerald Chen

Associate Professor of Engineering Technology

"I enjoy helping my students apply what they learn in the class to the workplace and get great satisfaction hearing about former students and seeing them succeed in their professions."

gchen@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Chen's Bio

 

 Don Clewett

Don Clewett

Instructor of Mathematics

dclewett@wtamu.edu
Don Clewett's Bio

James B. Collins

Dr. James B. Collins

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

“Eureka!”
-Archimedes

jcollins@wtamu.edu
Dr. Collins' Bio
Home Page: wtamu.edu/~jcollins/

 

Dr. Randel L. Combs

Associate Professor of Mathematics

rcombs@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Combs' Bio
Mary Jane Cruz

Mary Jane Cruz

Instructor of Mathematics

"I take my job of preparing teachers seriously.  I want to make a difference in the public school system especially with regard to the teaching of mathematics."

mcruz@wtamu.edu
Mary Jane Cruz's Bio

Dr. Freddie Davis

Dr. Freddie Davis

Associate Professor of Engineering

"The ability of our students to meet and exceed expectations is amazing."

fdavis@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Davis' Bio
 Dr. Robert DeOtte

Dr. Robert DeOtte

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

"Students who take one of my classes will find me fully invested in what I am teaching.  I take a personal interest in each student and always encourage the students to achieve their full potential."

rdeotte@wtamu.edu
Dr. DeOtte's Bio   
Dr. DeOtte's Personal Page

 Kristina Gill

 

Dr. Kristina Gill

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

“A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.” - Henry Adams

kgill@wtamu.edu
Dr. Gill's Bio

Dr. Paul Haiduk

H. Paul Haiduk

Instructor of Computer Sciences

"Computer science trains students to really understand the inner workings of computing devices and software. Thus, our job in the computer science program is to train students to be Jedi warriors in the world of hacking and to always be vigilant against the Sith (the dark side hackers bent upon destruction, power, etc.). Students studying Computer Science can expect to work incredibly hard.  Those who are successful can expect significant rewards, not the least of which are $$$$. May the Force be with you."

hhaiduk@wtamu.edu
Paul Haiduk's Bio

Lina Hajje

Lina Hajje

Instructor

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a gift. That’s why we call it present.”

lhajje@wtamu.edu
Lina Hajje's Bio

Nathon Howell

Dr. Nathan Howell

Assistant Professor of Environmental Engineering

"Engineering is, in many ways, an approach to solving problems more than a discipline of study.  I encourage students to T-H-I-N-K more than anything else.  Your value as an engineer rests in your ability to think well for the benefit of others.  I value all my students too much to get them through a class of mine without honing their critical thinking abilities."

nhowell@wtamu.edu
Nathan Howell's Bio
Dr. Howell's Personal Page

Dr. Emily Hunt

Dr. Emily Hunt

Dean, Professor of Mechanical Engineering

"Engineering is an exciting field to be in because it is always advancing, both with new technologies and methods of teaching."

ehunt@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Hunt's Bio

Dr. Roy Issa

Dr. Roy Issa

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

"At West Texas A&M University, I have the opportunity to teach smaller size classes.  I enjoy teaching in this environment because it allows more interaction between the students and the faculty.  This also translates to a higher quality of teaching where the faculty has more time to mentor to individual students."

rissa@wtamu.edu
Dr. Issa's Bio

Dr. Matt Jackson

Dr. Matt Jackson

Associate Dean, Bell Helicopter Professor of Mechanical Engineering

"I love teaching and seeing the lights come on in students heads when they start grasping the ideas."

mjackson@wtamu.edu
Dr. Jackson's Bio

 Duane Jacobs

Duane Jacobs

Instructor of Mathematics

"My greatest thrill as a teacher is helping students learn to teach mathematics to themselves."

djacobs@wtamu.edu  
Duane Jacobs' Bio

 Gregg Lawler

Gregg Lawler

Instructor of Mathematics

glawler@wtamu.edu  
Gregg Lawler's Bio

Dr. Kenneth Leitch

Dr. Kenneth Leitch

Associate Professor of Civil Engineering

"When you graduate, your education does not end. Continue to learn something new everyday."

kleitch@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Leitch's Bio

Dr. Pam Lockwood-Cooke

Dr. Pam Lockwood-Cooke

Associate Dean, Professor of Mathematics

"I chose mathematics as a major in college because it was what I was good at.  I stayed in mathematics and became an applied mathematician because of the limitless possibilities for applying mathematics to other fields.  You can change the world by solving a math problem!"

plockwood@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Lockwood-Cooke's Bio
Audrey Meador

Audrey Meador

Instructor of Mathematics

“You never truly understand the beauty of a subject unless you have taught it to someone else. I have a passion for my subject and teach so that my students can hopefully gain that same appreciation for mathematics.”

ameador@wtamu.edu  
Audrey Meador's Bio

Oliver K. Mulamba

Dr. Oliver K. Mulamba

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

“I cannot teach anybody anything. I can only make them think.”
Socrates

omulamba@wtamu.edu
Dr. Mulamba's Bio

 Dr. Dan Seth

Dr. Daniel Seth

Professor of Mathematics

"Math is paradoxical, fun and hard at the same time. Success in math is akin to success in athletics or music, it requires a lot of practice and perseverance."

dseth@wtamu.edu
Dr. Seth's Bio

 Kim Seward

Kim Seward

Instructor of Mathematics

kseward@wtamu.edu

 Darshit Shah

Dr. Darshit Shah

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

 

dshah@wtamu.edu
Dr. Shah's Bio

 Anitha Subburaj

Dr. Anitha Subburaj

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

"It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge."-  Albert Einstein

asubburaj@wtamu.edu
Dr. Subburaj's bio
 Shijun Tang

Shijun Tang

Instructor of Computer Science

 

stang@wtamu.edu
Shijun Tang' Bio

 Melissa Timmons

Melissa Timmons

Instructor of Mathematics

“I enjoy teaching my students mathematics and watching them overcome their previous aversion to the subject. I believe that anyone can do mathematics, it just takes a willingness to try.”

mtimmons@wtamu.edu
Melissa Timmons' Bio

 Arn Womble

Dr. J. Arn Womble

Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering

Structural Engineering is best defined as “the art of molding materials we do not wholly understand into shapes we cannot precisely analyze, so as to withstand forces we cannot properly assess, in such a way that the community at large has no reason to suspect the extent of our ignorance.”
Dr. A. R. Dykes, Chairman’s Address to the Scottish Branch of the British Institution of Structural Engineers, 1976

awomble@wtamu.edu
Dr. Womble's Bio