West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice Scholarships

Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice Scholarships

Criminal Justice Scholarships

Law Enforcement Tuition Waiver is available to full-time peace officers who are employed by the State of Texas or one of its political subdivisions and who maintaion satisfactory academic progress.

  • Applicants must apply and provide proof of employment at least one week before the last day of the regular registration period to the Admissions Office, WTAMU Box 60907, Canyon, TX 79016-0001.
  • The tuition waiver is only applicable to classes with a CRIJ prefix and SOCI 4302, 4304, 4342 that are required for the Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, or Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences with a concentration in criminal justice.
  • The waiver does not include general education core courses, electives, or other classes required for the degree. It does not include fees although students who take online classes only may seek a waiver of other fees.
  • No more than 20 pecent of the maximum student enrollment for any given class may receive the waiver.

John B. and Mary O. Coleman Scholarship was created in 1993 by family and friends of the Colemans in recognition of their interest in students and in higher education. Students of at least sophomore standing with a minimum 2.2 GPA majoring in pre-dentistry, pre-law, political science or criminal justice are eligible to apply.

Judge Marvin Jones Scholarship was established in 1976 to provide scholarships to assist students exhibiting outstanding character and leadership ability, as well as having a proven scholastic record. The scholarship honors Jones’ service to the Texas Panhandle as a member of Congress, federal judge and adviser of three U.S. presidents. Selection of recipients shall be made on a competitive basis taking into consideration high school rank, SAT or ACT scores, or GPA of previous college work; evidence of outstanding character/leadership ability; involvement in extracurricular activities; and past honors received.

Jesse and Grace Osborn Endowment Fund was established by the Osborn family in recognition of their many contributions to the state of Texas and Texas Panhandle, especially during Jesse Osborn’s terms in the Texas House of Representatives and on the Texas Board of Mental Health and Mental Retardation. Provides scholarships to students majoring in political science, criminal justice, or a related field with emphasis in criminal justice or political science who have completed at least 12 hours in political science and/or criminal justice with a 3.0 GPA.

Criminal Justice Master’s Program Scholarship was established in 2000 by contributions and grants to provide a scholarship for criminal justice graduate students in good standing.

Captain Ed Foster Law Enforcement Scholarship was established by family, friends and colleagues in memory of Foster, a long-time member of University police at WTAMU. Criminal justice students with an emphasis in law enforcement who have completed at least 45 hours at WTAMU with 2.75 GPA are eligible for the award.

Harrington Law Enforcement Scholarship Fund is available to full-time employees in criminal justice agencies in Potter, Randall and Deaf Smith counties of Texas. The student must enroll in six or more undergraduate or three graduate hours and earn a minimum 2.3 GPA undergraduate or 3.3 GPA graduate. These scholarships cover a portion of tuition, fees and books.

Brent T. Lynch Criminal Justice Scholarship Award was established in 1980 to honor Lynch, a long-time faculty member and founder of the Criminal Justice Program. The annual scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate criminal justice major who has completed a minimum of 60 semester hours with a 3.0 GPA or better in the major’s course requirements.

Jerry Neal Scholarship was established in honor of Neal’s 26 years of dedicated service to the city of Amarillo and the surrounding communities. This scholarship is for criminal justice majors who maintain a 2.5 or higher GPA. Preference will be given based on need and also Amarillo police officers, employees of the city of Amarillo who are preparing to become police officers, or children of employees of the city of Amarillo who are preparing to become police officers. This scholarship is renewable if criteria are met.

Retired Professors Scholarship for Political Science and Criminal Justice was established from gifts given by retired professors and their colleagues, families and friends in order to assist in the education of political science and criminal justice majors.