West Texas A&M University - Home
School of Music Faculty

School of Music

Faculty

Dr. Mark Bartley

Dr. Mark Bartley

Associate Professor of Music, Director of Orchestral Activities, Associate Director

"If you work hard, you will be successful here."

mbartley@wtamu.edu
Dr. Bartley's Bio

 Helen Blackburn

Helen Blackburn

Franklin Chair in Music, Lecturer in Flute

“Do or do not…there is no try.” Yoda

hblackburn@wtamu.edu               

 Benjamin Brooks

Dr. Benjamin J. Brooks

Associate Professor of Music

"Aim to hit."  

bbrooks@wtamu.edu
Dr. Brooks' Bio

Dr. Brooks' Personal Page
              

 Dr. Joe Ella Cansler

Dr. Joe Ella Cansler

Associate Professor of Music

"I enjoy the artistic field because it is always creative, different and exciting. I love watching the student process of growth and maturation, much of the time as "one-on-one." I am able to teach using interactive and interdisciplinary methods—hands on. There is never a dull moment."

jcansler@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Cansler's Bio

 Dr. Tina Carpenter

Dr. Tina Carpenter

Professor of Music

"Music is one of the most expressive and creative art forms. To be able to share this love of music in the classroom, as well as in the concert hall, is one of my greatest joys."

tcarpenter@wtamu.edu 
Dr. Carpenter's Bio

 Ted Dubois

Dr. Ted DuBois

Professor of Music

tdubois@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Dubois' Bio

Dr. Robert Hansen

Dr. Robert Hansen

Regents Professor of Music, Director

"Teaching voice combines the joy of making music and using the voice to express human emotion with the fascination of watching the science of acoustics and natural physical function at work. The opportunity of working one-on-one with a student creates a bond that goes beyond the immediate learning task to a genuine personal relationship between teacher and student."

rhansen@wtamu.edu
Robert Hansen's Bio

Robert Hansens' Personal Page

 

Rossitza Goza

Rossitza Jekova-Goza, DMA

Harrington Lecturer in Violin

rgoza@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Goza's Bio

 Dr. Edward Kahler

Dr. Edward Kahler

Associate Dean of the Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities, Associate Professor of Music

"Music Therapy is a healthcare profession, and it is very rewarding to watch students develop both musically and clinically.  It is exciting to see them begin to use music as a therapeutic agent with a variety of client populations."

ekahler@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Kahler's Bio

 Dr. Robert Krause

Dr. Robert Krause

Professor of Oboe

"Working in the music department at West Texas A&M University allows me to share with the students my two passions: 1) Music—the universal language and threshold to the soul, and 2) teaching—the wonderfully endless journey of sharing and learning."

rkrause@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Krause's Bio

Dr. Cloyce Kuhnert

Dr. Cloyce Kuhnert

Associate Professor of Music

"Teaching private voice and opera workshop gives me the opportunity to work one-on-one with students.  I get to know them and see their progress throughout the semester.  Singing is such a personal endeavor that our work with students is geared directly to the students' ability and interest.  There are very few disciplines that work so closely with individual students."

ckuhnert@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Kuhnert's Bio

 Don Lefevre

Donald Lefevre

Associate Professor of Music

dlefevre@wtamu.edu
Donald Lefevre's Bio

Jeremy Lewis

Jeremy Lewis

Assistant Professor of Low Brass

“Without music life would be a mistake.” - Friedrich Wilhelm Neitzsche

jlewis@mail.wtamu.edu   
Jeremy Lewis' Bio

 Emmanuel Lopez

Emmanuel Lopez

Harrington Lecturer in Cello

"The aspect of teaching I enjoy the most is being able to develop my students' minds both musically and intellectually. I want to educate strong minds who will in turn successfully educate the next generation of teachers and useful citizens. It is only through education that we can confront the challenges our society will face in the future, and I believe I can help to achieve that through my teaching music at West Texas A&M University."

elopez@wtamu.edu  
Emmanuel Lopez's Bio

 Guglielmo Manifredi

Dr. Guglielmo Manfredi

Assistant Professor of French Horn

“Play with a cool mind and a warm heart.”

gmanfredi@wtamu.edu  
Guglelmo Manfredi's Bio

 Christopher Meerdink

Dr. Christopher Meerdink

Assistant Professor of Voice

“”

cmeerdink@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Meerdink's Bio

 Raimundo Morales

Dr. Raimundo Morales

Assistant Professor of Music

“Whatever the mind can conceive and believe, the mind can achieve.”

rmorales@mail.wtamu.edu  
Dr. Morales' Bio

 Choong-ha Nam

Dr. Choong-Ha Nam

Associate Professor of Music

cnam@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Nam's Bio

 Matt Oglesby

Matthew Oglesby

Assistant Lecturer in Voice

moglesby@wtamu.edu
Matthew Oglesby's Bio

Denise Parr-Scanlin

Dr. Denise Parr-Scanlin

Associate Professor of Music

dparr@wtamu.edu 
Dr. Parr-Scanlin's Bio

 Sean Pullen

Dr. Sean Pullen

Assistant Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities

spullen@wtamu.edu
Dr. Pullen's Bio


Dr. Keith Redpath

Dr. Keith Redpath

Harrington Lecturer in Violin

"Teaching and learning the art of playing the violin is a never ending discovery process.  .  This process will build discipline, critical thinking, problem solving, self-awareness, long-term goal building...skills for life!"

kredpath@wtamu.edu
Dr. Redpath's Bio

 James Rennier

Dr. James Rennier

Professor of Music

“A person should hear a little music, read a little poetry and see a fine picture every day in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul.” -- Goethe

jrennier@wtamu.edu
Dr. James Renniers' Bio

Nicholas Scales

Dr. Nicholas Scales

Assistant Professor of Double Bass

“A bad day on bass is better than the best day on cello!”~ Gary Karr

nscales@wtamu.edu   
Nicholas Scales' Bio

 Douglas Storey

Douglas Storey

Associate Professor of Music

"I love working individually with students.  Each person brings a unique set of goals and expectations, and it's my responsibility to help them achieve these professional benchmarks."

dstorey@wtamu.edu   
Douglas Storey's Bio

 Dr. William Takacs

Dr. William Takacs

Associate Professor of Music

"The best thing about working at West Texas A&M University is the amazing people you interact with every day."

wtakacs@wtamu.edu
Dr. Takacs' Bio
 
Dr. Takacs' Personal Page

 Dr. Susan Martin Tariq

Dr. Susan Martin Tariq

Professor of Music

"The best thing about teaching at West Texas A&M University has been the opportunity to meet so many friendly, caring people—from administrators to faculty to staff to students. It is very rare to walk into an office on our campus and not be greeted with a smile and a helpful attitude."

stariq@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Tariq's Bio

 Dr. Russell Teweleit

Dr. Russell Teweleit

Associate Professor of Music

"At WTAMU, music majors study with an expert in the field, not a graduate student or an adjunct faculty member.  Our students work closely with an experienced and cohesive faculty who is focused on preparing them for their chosen profession."

rteweleit@wtamu.edu  
Dr. Teweleit's Bio  
Dr. Teweleit's Personal Page

 Vesselin Todorov

Vesselin Todorov

Harrington Lecturer in Viola

 

vtodorov@wtamu.edu

 

 

Apply Now