West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
McCartt Conference on Public Service

The Honorable Debra McCartt Conference in Public Service

The Honorable Debra A. McCartt Conference in Public Service is an annual conference that brings together WTAMU students and faculty, public service professionals, volunteers, and policymakers to explore issues facing communities.  It provides networking and professional development opportunities and features panel discussions, workshops, and presentations designed to equip people involved in public service with the knowledge and skills necessary to achieve innovative solutions to the challenges facing our communities. 

The next conference will be held in spring, 2014.

The conference is named in honor of the Honorable Debra A. McCartt, who has a history of leadership and commitment to excellence in public service and public administration, most visibly as city commissioner (2001-2005) and as mayor of Amarillo (2005-2011). Her community involvement has been prolific and varied and includes membership on the Amarillo Economic Development Corporation Board, the Chamber of Commerce State Affairs Committee, the Chamber of Commerce Small Business Committee, Junior League of Amarillo, the United Way Cabinet, and president of the Texas Municipal League. Currently, she is involved in a variety of efforts, including membership on the boards of Cal Farley’s Boys Ranch, the Panhandle Regional Planning Commission, Center City of Amarillo, and the Laura W. Bush Women’s Advisory Board.  

The last conference was held October 12, 2012 at the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum on the West Texas A&M University campus. The keynote speaker was Bennett Sandlin, executive director of the Texas Municipal League. The breakout sessions that followed were on “How to Analyze Community Needs and Create Long-lasting Solutions,” “How to Use Social Media in Municipal Government,” and “Innovative Community Solutions;” and the conference ended with a panel discussion on leadership.