West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
College of Business Investment Series

Student Managed Investment Fund (SMIF) 

Student-Managed Investment Fund

Through the Student-Managed Investment Fund (SMIF), finance majors explore applied investing.  Students manage a portfolio of funds and decide on stocks to purchase and sell with a goal of long-term growth.  They learn investment fundamentals, valuation techniques, and technical analysis.  All finance majors explore one or more investment opportunities, which are forwarded to the student portfolio managers for consideration.  Portfolio managers attempt to meet the dual objectives of increasing the long-run value of the portfolio combined with the short-run objective of providing student scholarships.  Since 2001, the program has awarded over $100,000 in scholarship funds to business students.  Established by local community leaders under the direction of Dr. Jerry Miller at an initial value of $100,000, the student portfolio’s current value is over $600,000. The stock holdings returned 4.3% over the last year versus a 3.1% return for the S&P 500 index.  Below is a copy of the SMIF Annual Report:

2010 SMIF Annual Report

2011 SMIF Annual Report

2012 SMIF Annual Report

2013 SMIF Annual Report

Student Manged Investment Fund Portfolio Managers 2012

2013 SMIF Scholarship Recipients

  • Emilee McKnight, MPA 
  • Rhemecka Graham, Pre-Business
  • Kyler Gregory, BBA Finance 
  • Christopher Olson, BBA Management & Finance
  • Ashli Parkhurst, BBA Accounting
  • Mary Trimble, BBA Management 
  • Kolten Wilder, MBA

2013 SMIF Student Portfolio Managers

  • Ethan Douglas, BBA Finance
  • Ashley Peterson, BBA Accounting and Finance 





Apply Now AACSB International-The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business Logo