West Texas A&M University - Home
Department of English, Philosophy and Modern Languages Faculty

Department of English, Philosophy and Modern Languages

Faculty

 Susan Amos

Susan Amos

Instructor of Spanish

samos@mail.wtamu.edu
Susan Amos' Bio

Sandra Davdson

Sandra Davidson

Instructor of Spanish

"I enjoy engaging students in the Spanish classroom in spite of inherent fears and discomforts at speaking a foreign language in front of strangers. I make my classroom warm, non-threatening and welcoming, so students can relax and learn to enjoy speaking Spanish, even when they make mistakes. By asking individual students personal questions in Spanish, the entire class finds out who works, who has kids, where they're from, what they study, etc. When the semester is over, many students have found friends for life and hopefully have learned to speak enough Spanish to communicate. What a great way to bridge the gap that exists between us and people who are different from us!"

sdavidson@wtamu.edu
Sandra Davidson's Bio

 Valerie Dennis

Valerie Dennis

Instructor of English

vdennis@wtamu.edu 
Valerie Dennis's Bio

 

Dr. Jeffrey Doty

Assistant Professor of English

 jdoty@wtamu.edu 
Dr. Doty's Bio

RayLene Dysert

RayLene Dysert

Instructor of English

 rdysert@wtamu.edu 
RayLene Dysert's Bio

Dr. David Hart

Dr. David Hart

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

"The Ideas are just as little enthroned above our heads as they reside inside them; they walk among us and step up to us."  -- Martin Buber

dhart@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hart's Bio

 Dr. Monica Smith

Dr. Monica Hart

Associate Professor of English and Director, Office of Writing Programs

 "When I first enrolled in graduate school, I thought I was going to specialize in the 20th-century American novel. But then I took Victorian Literature, and before I knew it, I had a degree in 19th-century British poetry. Just goes to show what one class can do!"

mhart@wtamu.edu
Dr. Hart's Bio

 David Horsley

David Horsley

Instructor of English

"I love teaching because I get jazzed watching students grow into more inquisitive, articulate, open-minded, engaged learners.  Knowing I have played a small role in their growth makes me happy."

dhorsley@wtamu.edu
David Horsley's Bio

 Dr. Alexander Hunt

Dr. Alexander Hunt

Professor of English

ahunt@mail.wtamu.edu 
Dr. Hunt's Bio

Dr. Martin Jacobsen

Dr. Martin Jacobsen

Associate Professor of English

"Studying English allows us to look beneath the surface of language and see the human drama unfold, to learn that most of what we think we know probably isn't really so. I sum up studying English—studying period—with the following maxim: We learn more from questioning answers than we do from answering questions."

mjacobsen@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Jacobsen's Bio

Bonney Macdonald

Dr. Bonney MacDonald


Professor of English

“The West is the geography of hope.”
- Wallace Stegner

bmacdonald@mail.wtamu.edu  
Dr. MacDonald's Bio


 

 Casey Pleming Casey J. Pleming

Instructor of English

cpleming@wtamu.edu  
Casey J. Pleming's Bio

 
Dr. Andrew Reynolds

Assistant Professor of Spanish

areynolds@wtamu.edu 
Dr. Reynolds' Bio

Bonnie Roos

Dr. Bonnie Roos

Associate Professor of English

"Learning to read literature well is imperative to understanding our world."

broos@wtamu.edu
Dr. Roos' Bio

 Òscar O. Santos-Sopena, Ph.D.

Dr. Òscar O. Santos-Sopena

Assistant Professor of Spanish

"From reading too much, and sleeping too little, his brain dried up on him and he lost his judgment."
Miguel de Cervantes
 

osantos-sopena@wtamu.edu
Òscar O. Santos-Sopena's Bio

 Mark Scala

Dr. Mark Scala

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

mscala@mail.wtamu.edu
Dr. Scala's Bio

 Dr. Steven Severn

Dr. Stephen Severn

Associate Professor of English;  Department Head for English, Philosophy, and Modern Languages

 "Students who enroll in my classes can expect to work hard, write frequently, and in doing so, gain a greater understanding of the language that they use everyday.  This knowledge will prepare them for success in whatever professional field or academic discipline that they pursue."

ssevern@wtamu.edu
Dr. Severn's Bio

 

Theresa Trela
 

Theresa Trela

Lecturer in English

"My students can expect fairness, fireworks and an intense relationship with the power of the written word.  Believe it or not, grammar can be sexy."

ttrela@wtamu.edu
Theresa Trela's Bio

Dr. Patricia Tyrer

Dr. Patricia Tyrer

Associate Professor of English

"If you looked in my high school year book under 'future plans,' you would see 'English Teacher' because I've been certain that I wanted to teach English since I was a teenager. I find teaching to be both a challenge and a joy, and I take pleasure in discussing everything from writing to literature to the latest film with my students, and I learn as much from them as they learn from me."

ptyrer@wtamu.edu
Dr. Tyrer's Bio

  Dr. Nicole Walls

Assistant Professor of English

nwalls@wtamu.edu
Dr. Walls' Bio

 

 

 

 

Apply Now