West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
COESS Student Organizations



Chi Sigma Iota International Counseling Honor Society 

The Counselor Education program at WTAMU sponsors the Psi Tau Omega chapter of Chi Sigma Iota, an international counseling academic and professional honor society. Chi Sigma Iota membership is open by invitation to Counselor Education students who meet established standards of excellence in scholarship and demonstrate a commitment to the counseling profession and to their own professional development (e.g., maintain a minimum of a 3.5 grade point average, become involved in professional associations and student organizations, attend professional development workshops and conferences, and advocate for legislation and other forms of policies that improve services to clients and that promote the counseling profession). Faculty Sponsor Dr. Leigh Green legreen@wtamu.edu.

WTAMU Bilingual Education Student Organization (BESO) Chapter

The Organizations provides individuals interested in Bilingual Education and English as a Second language as a profession with information and experiences related to bilingual education in schools. Contact: Faculty Sponsor Professor Elsa Diego-Medrano emedrano@mail.wtamu.edu

WTAMU Desi Student Organization

An organization for students from India, Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka and others interested in the culture of the Indian subcontinent. The organization participates in a variety of cultural events highlighting the culture, food, dance and religions of the subcontinent. The group meets on a regular basis and all are welcome to participate. Contact: Faculty Sponsor Dr. Eddie Henderson ehenderson@wtamu.edu. Visit the Desi web site.

Kappa Delta Pi – Iota Theta Chapter

An international honor society in education. Invitation to KDP is based on high academic achievement at the college level, a commitment to being an educator in the future, and a healthy attitude which ensures success in the education of students. Members assist with service opportunities, maintain the high ideals of the society, and are recognized honor students at graduation. Our Creed:
So to teach, that our words inspire a will to learn; So to serve, that each day may enhance the growth of exploring minds; So to live, that we may guide young and old to know the truth and love the right. Contact Faculty Sponsor Dr. Janet Hindman jhindman@wtamu.edu

WTAMU National Science Teachers Association Student Chapter

The purpose of the organization is to acquaint WTAMU pre-service teachers of science with support resources available from NSTA, provide additional professional development, and foster networking. All WTAMU students are welcome to join. Contact Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Ashley Campbell acampbell@wtamu.edu

PB&J: Politics, Bureaucracy, and Justice

Students are invited to participate in this professional research journal. Recognized by EBSCO Host and Ulrich’s, PB&J and WTAMU student articles are available through worldwide databases like Political Science Abstracts. PB&J provides students a vehicle to publish scholarly writings that have been reviewed by a team of students and faculty. Students who have served on the review board, published articles in the journal, or served as editor-in-chief have graduated from our institution with at least one publication and/or publication experience. These students have received full or partial scholarships to law schools and doctoral programs in institutions of higher education like Texas Tech University, University of Texas at Austin, William and Mary, University of North Texas, and the University of Michigan. Contact: Faculty Sponsor Dr. Dwight Vick dvick@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Psychology Club

An excellent opportunity to expand your knowledge in psychology, become active in ongoing student activities, and remain connected within the field as well as with other disciplines which share a common interest. Students in the club are involved in fund raising for ongoing professional activities, research and outreach, social activities, and community service. Membership to the organization is open to anyone who shares a common interest in the fields associated with the behavioral sciences. Contact Faculty Sponsor Mr. Kenneth Denton kdenton@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Social Work & Sociology Club

A dynamic and engaged student organization focused on community-based service projects including hosting the annual “Giving Tree” that provides holiday gifts to more than 300 elderly individuals and persons with developmental disabilities. Guest speakers share their thoughts on professional opportunities across disciplines. The club meets every other Wednesday, and all majors are welcome to participate. Contact: Faculty Sponsor Dr. Melody Loya mloya@wtamu.edu

WTAMU Students for Law and Order

Provides a friendly atmosphere for all students and sets the pace for academic excellence. It promotes the Criminal Justice Department at WTAMU and brings awareness to the different aspects of the Criminal Justice System. Join us for another year of activities, food and fun! Contact Faculty Sponsor Professor Claudia Stuart cstuart@wtamu.edu


Alpha Phi Sigma, The National Criminal Justice Honor Society

The Criminal Justice Program sponsors Lambda Omicron Chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, The National Criminal Justice Honor Society.  The goals of the Society are to honor and promote academic excellence; community service; educational leadership; and unity.  Membership is by invitation to both graduate and undergraduate students who meet the academic requirements.  Faculty sponsor: Professor Susan Coleman, scoleman@wtamu.edu.


Pi Sigma Alpha, Omega Iota Chapter

Pi Sigma Alpha is the national Political Science honor society. It is the only honor society for college and university students of government in the United States. One of the purposes of the honor society is to stimulate scholarship and intelligent interest in political science. Chapters on university and college campuses are encouraged to develop programs to enrich the exposure of members and the wider university community to the study of government and issues of public concern. Membership is by invitation. Undergraduates must have completed at least one-half the credits required for the baccalaureate degree and have completed at least ten semester-credits of work in Political Science including at least one upper-division course, with an average grade of B or higher in those courses. They do not need to be Political Science majors to qualify for membership. Graduate student must have completed 9 graduate credits in Political Science with no grade lower than a B. Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Dave Rausch drausch@wtamu.edu

Pi Gamma Mu, The International Social Science Honor Society, Texas Omicron Chapter.

Juniors, seniors, and graduate students in History, Geography, Political Science, Public Administration, Criminal Justice Administration, Economics, Sociology, Social Work, and Psychology with at least a 'B' average are eligible for membership. Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Ray Thoman, rthoman@wtamu.edu.