West Texas A&M University - Home
Animal Science Program


Major in Animal Science
(Major Code: 523)

Bachelor of Science (B.S.) Degree

The mission of the Animal Science program is to develop our students into leaders in animal agriculture.  Students have many opportunities to gain hands-on experience in areas such as:  diet formulation, animal and carcass evaluation, anatomy and physiology, breed identification, meat production, animal nutrition, and herd management.  The Animal Science program has several student organizations to get involved with including:  Block and Bridle, WT Horseman's Association, Pre-Vet club.  If competition is what you are looking for, look no furthur than to our livestock judging team, horse judging team, stock horse team, and equestrian team.  Majors in agriculture include University core requirements, department core requirements, agricultural science core requirements, and major requirements specified under each degree option and total 120 semester credit hours. Students must maintain at least a 2.0 grade point average (GPA) for all courses at WTAMU counted toward the degree.  At least 36 semester hours of credit must be earned from upper-level (3000- and 4000-level) courses.

Select BIOL 1413, CHEM 1411 or 1405, MATH 1314 and AGBE 2317 to satisfy core curriculum requirements.

Department Core (13–16 hours)*

  • IDS 1071- Elementary Group Dynamics
  • AGBE 2317- Fundamentals of Agricultural Economics
  • AGRI or BIOL 3301- Genetics
  • AGRI 3318- Agricultural Statistics
  • ANSC 1319- Principles of Animal Science
  • PSES 1307 Principles of Plant Science

*If AGBE 2317 is used to meet University core requirements, department core is 13 hours.

Agricultural Science Core (23 hours)

  • AGBE 3301 or 3304- Farm and Ranch Management or Agricultural Business Management
  • AGBE 3302- Marketing of Agricultural Products
  • AGRI 3330- Computer Applications in Agriculture
  • AGRI 4103- Senior Seminar
  • ANSC 1329- Food Science
  • ANSC 3374- Principles of Nutrition
  • PSES 2313- Economic Entomology
  • PSES 3411- Soils

Major Requirements (35–36 hours)

  • CHEM 1412- Chemistry II
  • BIOL 2420 or 2572- Applied Microbiology or Microbiology
  • ANSC 2376- Meat Animal and Carcass Evaluation
  • ANSC 2371- Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Farm Animals
  • ANSC 3317- Meat Science
  • ANSC 3340- Reproductive Physiology
  • ANSC 3355- Animal Breeding
  • ANSC 3375- Feeds and Feeding
  • Three courses from ANSC 4320- Beef Cattle Management, 4321- Stocker Cattle Management, 4322-Dairy Cattle Management, 4324- Swine Management, 4328- Feedlot Management, 4370- Equine Science and Production.  No more than two of the following (4320, 4321, 4322, 4328) may be taken to meet major requirements.

Electives (5-8 hours)

 For More Information Please Contact:

Dr. Eric Bailey at ebailey@wtamu.edu

Dr. David Lust at dlust@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Lance Baker at lbaker@wtamu.edu,

Dr. Ty Lawrence at tlawrence@wtamu.edu,

Dr. John Pipkin at jpipkin@wtamu.edu,

Ms. Amanda Love at alove@wtamu.edu, or

Dr. Dean Hawkins at dhawkins@wtamu.edu

Apply Now