West Texas A&M University

Buff Transit Tracker
Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance Faculty

Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance

Faculty

 Amber Black

Amber Black

Coordinator of Undergraduate Business Programs and Instructor of Finance

Ms. Black joined the College of Business in 2014.  She spent 10 years working in the banking industry before coming to West Texas A&M University.  Her teaching areas include Introduction to Personal Finance and Real Estate Finance.

ablack@wtamu.edu
Amber Black's Bio
 
Amber Black's CV

 Sharon Burnett

Dr. Sharon Burnett

Associate Professor of Accounting

Dr. Burnett returned to WT in 2013.  She originally served as an assistant and was promoted to associate professor from 2000-2007.  Dr. Burnett teaches Accounting for Decision Making, Cost Accounting, and Accounting Information Systems courses.

sburnett@wtamu.edu
Sharon Burnett's Bio
 
Sharon Burnett's CV

 David Clark

David Clark

Instructor of Accounting and Healthcare Management

"Education should be thought of as a life-long trust fund in which, over the years, you should always strive to make more deposits than withdrawals!."

dclark2@wtamu.edu
David Clark's Bio
 
David Clark's CV

 Karen Cooley

Karen Cooley

Instructor of Accounting

"What I enjoy most about teaching at West Texas A&M University is the opportunity to meet students and learn about who they are, not just as students but as people."

kcooley@wtamu.edu
Karen Cooley's Bio
 
Karen Cooley's CV

 De'Arno De'Armond

Dr. De'Arno De'Armond

Associate Professor of Finance & Edwards Professor of Financial Planning

"It has been said, 'People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care.' I love walking into a classroom. It is an honor to share ideas and concepts in the learning environment with tomorrow's leaders."

ddearmond@wtamu.edu
Dr. De'Armond's Bio

Dr. De'Armond's CV

Dr. Karyn Friske

Dr. Karyn Friske

Professor of Accounting & Schaeffer Professor of Business Ethics

"Nine tenths of education is encouragement." - Anatole France

kfriske@wtamu.edu
Dr. Friske's Bio
    
Dr. Friske's CV

 

Dr. Thomas Hogan

Stephen Hayward

Part-Time Instructor of Economics

“Great thoughts speak only to the thoughtful mind, but great actions speak to all mankind.” - Theodore Roosevelt

shayward@wtamu.edu
Stephen Hayward's Bio
Stephen Hayward's CV

Ryan S. Mattson

Dr. Ryan S. Mattson

Assistant Professor of Economics

“There is no science without measurement, no quality without testing, and no global markets without standards.” Commission of the European Union.

rmattson@wtamu.edu 
Dr. Mattson's Bio

Dr. Mattson's CV

Dr. Neil Meredith

Dr. Neil Meredith

Assistant Professor of Economics

"By pursuing his own interest [man] frequently promotes that of the society more effectually than when he really intends to promote it." –Adam Smith

nmeredith@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Meredith's Bio 

Dr. Meredith's CV

Lisa L. Mitchell

Lisa L. Mitchell

Coordinator of Graduate Programs and Instructor of Finance

“Think for yourself. Trust your own intuition. Another’s mind isn’t walking your journey, you are.”

lmitchell@wtamu.edu   
Lisa Mitchell's Bio

Lisa Mitchell's CV

 Dr. J. Patrick O'Brien

Dr. J. Patrick O'Brien

University President, CEO, Professor of Economics

pobrien@wtamu.edu   
Dr. O'Brien's Bio

 Dr. Jim Owens

Dr. Jim Owens

Professor of Finance & Hodges Professor of Corporate Governance

"Teaching finance is enjoyable because it impacts virtually every facet of every student's life.  While the specific topic may involve corporate finance, the student is involved since they can quickly see how the concepts apply to their own lives.  To quote Will Durant:  'People who manage people manage people who manage things; people who manage money manage everything.'"

jowens@wtamu.edu
Dr. Owens' Bio
   
Dr. Owens' CV

 Dr. Rex Pjesky

Dr. Rex Pjesky

Associate Dean of the Graduate School & Associate Professor of Economics

"...And very often the influence exerted on a person's character by the amount of his income is hardly less, if it is less, than that exerted by the way in which it is earned."--Alfred Marshall

rpjesky@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Pjesky's Bio    
Dr. Pjesky's CV

 

 Darlene Pulliam

Dr. Darlene Pulliam

Professor of Accounting, McCray Professor of Business, and Regents Professor

"Success in life is the result of hard work and persistance.  If you are not working hard and maybe even struggling at whatever you are doing, you are not reaching your potential.  Coasting is not acceptable."

dpulliam@wtamu.edu
Dr. Pulliam's Bio
   
Dr. Pulliam's CV

Parman Reynolds

Parman Reynolds

Part-time Instructor of Economics  

“Economics surrounds us and guides our daily existence in a constantly changing environment. My goal is to provide students with a practical business perspective of economics, and to encourage them to appreciate the everyday applications of its principles.”
 
 Dr. Duane Rosa

Dr. Duane Rosa

Professor of Economics

"Students that enroll in one of my classes can expect to be actively involved in the subject matter of the course. It is my hope that students acquire not only essential course content, but hopefully will adopt an appreciation for learning that will stay with them a lifetime."

drosa@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Rosa's Bio    
Dr. Rosa's CV

 Ian Strachan

Dr. Ian Strachan

Assistant Professor of Economics

Dr. Strachan joined the College of Business in 2014.  His teaching areas include International Economics, Industrial Organization, and Law & Economics.  His research includes "Breaking Up is Hard to Do: The Resilience of the Rock Group as an Organizational Form for Creating Music" published in Journal of Cultural Economics.

istrachan@wtamu.edu   
Ian Strachan's Bio    
Ian Strachan's CV

 Dr. Anne Macy Terry

Dr. Anne Macy (Terry)

Edwards Professor of Finance

"I chose finance and economics because I love that it is a mixture of the practical and the theoretical. The central theme is "how do people and firms make optimal decisions?" The decisions exist in a world with competing goals and constraints. The answer is different every day and with every group of decision-makers. "

amacy@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Macy's Bio    
Dr. Macy's CV

Dr. Neil Terry

Dr. Neil Terry

Dean of the College of Business and Professor of Economics

"If money is your hope for independence you will never have it. The only real security that a man can have in this world is a reserve of knowledge, experience and ability"---Henry Ford

nterry@wtamu.edu   
Dr. Terry's Bio      
Dr. Terry's CV 

 Alice Upshaw

Alice Upshaw

Instructor of Accounting

“Learn as if you were to live forever; live as if you were to die tomorrow.”

aupshaw@wtamu.edu   
Alice Upshaw's Bio    
Alice Upshaw's CV

 Jean Walker

E. Jean Walker

Instructor of Finance, SIFE Sam Walton Fellow and Miller Professor of Entrepreneurship

"College is an exciting, life-changing experience for students, and seeing that growth first-hand is the best part of teaching at WTAMU."

jwalker@wtamu.edu   
Jean Walker's Bio    
Jean Walker's CV

Dr. Huabing (Barbara) Wang

Dr. Huabing (Barbara) Wang

Associate Professor of Finance and Gene Edwards Professor of Banking

"To learn and never be filled, is wisdom; to teach and never be weary, is love."

hwang@wtamu.edu
Dr. Wang's Bio
    
Dr. Wang's CV

 

Apply Now AACSB International-The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business Logo