West Texas A&M University

Faculty Senate Minutes

February 23, 2007

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 12:16.

Members present were Bill Ambrose, Syed Anwar, Sandy Babitzke, Larry Barnes (for Nagalapura Viswanath), Chuck Chase, Gerald Chen, Mo Cuevas, Jeanette Embrey, Robert Hansen, Harry Hueston, Mary Jarvis, Richard Jasoni (for Bonnie Pendleton), Frank Landram, Joshua Lewer, Amy Newman, Keith Price, Helen Reyes, Mark Riney, and Douglas Werden.

II. Dr. O’Brien’s Report

Dr. O’Brien reported on the status of budget hearings in Austin and answered questions from senators.


Faculty salaries

Private Giving, etc.

III. Dr. Chapman’s report

Dr. Chapman continued discussion of the A&M system’s tenure process and the core curriculum.


Background of Core Curriculum revisions

Other issues

IV. Other business

The meeting adjourned at 2:10 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert Hansen (for secretary Mallard)